Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Carb or efi?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by ftcjimmy, Mar 9, 2005.

1. ftcjimmy

ftcjimmy Registered Member

I have a 1990 Jimmy 1500. Im just getting started and i want to know which is better to run a carb or use the stock fuel injection. I have heard pros and cons about both and im just looking for a little more information. Im using the truck for raising hell around town and some minor off roading. I want power and performance. Thanks.

2. dirtwarrior17

dirtwarrior17 Banned

All depends on your budget and patience. I am running a 350 hp tbi 355(350 bored .030 over) with the stock harness on my 88 but i added a holley 670 cfm tbi (350$) accel 45 psi inline fuel pump(150$) and soon to come is a prominator(275$) to remapp the fuel and ignition curve. I also have 10:1 pistons, holley projection manifold, muscle car cam, headers, 3" exhaust, k and n and lid, and ported camel humps. Just remember efi is just like carbs as far as making power but you have to mod the computer to get it to run right. A labtop, and a free program called winaldl will let you know what the air/fuel ratio is and the prominator(basically a programable chip) will let you make the changes through the labtop.

might want to head over to www.thirdgen.com

Just about every efi question poster will get directed over there.

3. mini_mull

mini_mull 1/2 ton status