Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

carb problems? or choke?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by IL84JIMMY, Apr 8, 2004.

1. IL84JIMMY

IL84JIMMY Registered Member

I drive an '84 Jimmy, I am having problems with really high RPM's. I am not a mechanic, so i need some help. Almost everytime i fire it up, the RPM's jump up to 2000 or above, and stay there until i kick the gas and then it goes down. But as soon as I start driving again, they are right back up where they were before. I drive a manual, so it is not like the truck runs away from me, but it always wants to be at about 2000 RPM's, when i am driving, or put the clutch in, or sitting in nuetral it is all the same. Is this a problem with my electric choke, or carb, or just a throttle cable, or something completely different? With gas prices where as high as they are, this is getting expensive. thanks for any help.

2. pauly383

pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

Sounds like linkage problem/choke to me. The fact that it idles down on first kick is good, but it shouldn't go back up. Make sure nothing is in the way, and the choke wire has 12 volts to it . /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif

3. IL84JIMMY

Could I use some carb cleaner as wd40? or what would be best? I have been gone all weekend and havent been able to work on it, but I will tomorrow. thanks for the info.

4. IL84JIMMY