Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Carbeurator question

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by chrskrngl, Oct 13, 2005.

  1. chrskrngl

    chrskrngl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Posts:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lancaster
    Just picked up my 1979 K5 Blazer last weekend. When I was talking to the guy about it, he had told me that it is a v8 350 5.7l 4bbl. I verified all of this via the vin number, but he also said that he converted the 4 barrel carb to a 2 barrel to get better gas mileage and save some money. He said that if I wanted some more power (which who doesn't) to just hook up the other 2 barrels, that is where you guys come in. Where could he possibly have disconnected it and how to I reconnect it? Thanks
     
  2. rcamacho

    rcamacho 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    WA
    What kind of Carb

    What kind of carburetor is it? Q-jet/Carter/Holley?
    There are many ways of disabling a vacuum secondary 4bbl or adapting a 2 bbl with an adapter.

    :confused:
     
  3. chrskrngl

    chrskrngl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Posts:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lancaster
    not sure what type it is, i just did some minor stuff to it last night and forgot to get the number from the carb to check it out
     
  4. Blazer1970

    Blazer1970 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,600
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Old Mission, MI
    I would assume that he pulled the link that goes between the primary and secondary throttle shafts off the original Q-Jet. This is really a stupid mod since it is really easy to stay out of the secondaries just by the way you drive.
     
  5. chrskrngl

    chrskrngl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Posts:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lancaster
    the link that your talking about, should i just be looking for a loose wire somewhere hanging near the carb and see if it plugs into something? i have a haynes service manual for it but i wasn't able to point out anything that he might have done.
     

Share This Page