Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Carburetor Choke Question

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by mr_clean, May 6, 2005.

  1. mr_clean

    mr_clean 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    348
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    I'm going to replace the carb on my K5 and want to know what is the easiest choke setup to hook up?

    The vehicle is a 73', but I have the Vortec heads and manifold on it with no provisions for the origional choke that was on it.

    I was looking at the Jet stage 2 carb with electric choke, but I don't know if that can be hooked up to a 73 vehicle or not... Should I be looking at a different carb other than the Jet Stage 2?

    Any help is appreciated!!!

    Thanks,

    Scott
     
  2. pauly383

    pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Posts:
    16,217
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Mesa , Arizona USA
    As long as your intake has the right flange , or you have an adater plate , you can run any carb you want on a 73 ( take into account any emissions or cfm requirements ) . You need a clean 12 volt switched power wire for the electric choke .
     
  3. mr_clean

    mr_clean 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    348
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    Ok, sorry if this is a stupid question, but what switches the 12v on and off?
     
  4. dontoe

    dontoe 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Posts:
    9,070
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hickory, N.C.
    Just use a test light or buzzer on the open (unused) terminals on your fuse block. Find one that is hot when you turn on the ign switch and off when you turn off the switch and plug in the wire from the electric choke into that one.:grin:
     
  5. mr_clean

    mr_clean 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    348
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    So the choke just needs 12 volts to operate and it determins when it's open or closed?

    I was thinking the voltage was +12 for open choke and 0 volts for closed choke...
     
  6. dontoe

    dontoe 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Posts:
    9,070
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hickory, N.C.
    There is a switch inside it!
     
  7. chulisohombre

    chulisohombre 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2002
    Posts:
    4,140
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Bangor,Pa
    electric choke definitely is the easiest route.ignition switch turns on the choke if you hook itup to a power source ran by the ignition switch.it runs like a thermostat opens and closes when it gets hot or cold.
     
  8. Jagged

    Jagged 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    11,460
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    SWVA
    just gotta be careful with electric chokes sometimes, e.g. my friend's old 5.0 mustang w/ electric choke... sometimes he'll rev up the engine some after starting it... the choke will get warm and turn off, but the engine isn't quite up yet for no-choke and it stutters a bit.
     

Share This Page