Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Carter afb?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by GORRILLA, Jun 6, 2004.

1. GORRILLA

GORRILLA 1/2 ton status

Is carter still making these carbs?
    I looked for a rebuild on jeg's, summit and auto zone and couldn't find a listing for the carbs or a rebuild.
    Keep in mind that I am not that good with a computer.
    But I swaped in a 350 to this guys truck and the thing ran great, until I throttled on it. It started to run rough and loading up. Then, it started leaking fuel out the side where the linkage is.
    I know carter isn't my favorite, but is this guy goin have get a new carb, or can I find a rebuild somewhere?
    The number off the carbs is 9605s 0275. That's the only number we could find.
    /forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif

2. jimmyjack

jimmyjack 1/2 ton status

As far as I know they're the same as the edlebrocks. Those rebuild kits are around $40

3. Hossbaby50

Hossbaby50 3/4 ton status

I believe Edelbrock bought carter and carter AFB's are the same carb as standard style edelbrocks. So therefore edelbrock parts should work. I may be wrong though.

4. ugly_blazer

ugly_blazer 1/2 ton status

I think that they are both built by Weber. The Summit part number on the Carter AFB is CRT-9605. The Summit website says it not available but I called about one a couple days ago and they said they still sell them. I don't know if they have parts or not, and I think that some parts (maybe metering rods /forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif) may be different from an AFB to an Edelbrock.

5. pauly383

pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator