Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

CB antenna placement

Discussion in 'Communication (CB | GPS | HAM)' started by GUMBY, Jun 20, 2000.

1. GUMBY

GUMBY Registered Member

I have a full size Blazer. From what I've read and been told so far, the best place is on top of the cab either with a permanent mount or a magnetic. Recommended brand is Wilson 1000. I have seen so many bumper mounted whip antennas that I'm wondering is there really a big difference in reception and transmission with a roof antenna over a bumper one?

2. Emmettology 101

Emmettology 101 3/4 ton status

I am no expert but the higher the mount the better for the best possible reception.
    However I have mine mounted on a plate that is bolted to the body directly under the passenger side tail light.
    A friend of mine had a CB shop and the only thing they really looked for was that it sticks up past the roof.

Mike [​IMG]
    1982 GMC Jimmy - <font color=green>Emmett</font color=green>
    http://emmett.coloradok5.com

3. bigdaddy89

bigdaddy89 1/2 ton status

You will get your best performance out of your antenna by placing it in the center of the roof. By doing this your are getting 360 degree's of reception.

4. 90K5

90K5 1/2 ton status

I have mine mounted on the bumper and it works pretty well. I've also seen some trucks with two, one on each side view mirror. That probably only works with the metal mirrors that have som kind of bar cou could drill a hole in to bolt the antenna to but it looks pretty tight. Probably the best place for it is on the roof though.

5. blazer72

blazer72 1/2 ton status