Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

cb antennas on mirrors

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by muddybuddy, Nov 30, 2006.

  1. muddybuddy

    muddybuddy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Posts:
    8,933
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Fairfax Station VA
    i bought 2 new cb antennas a little while ago for the k5, and they came with mounts and i was hoping i could mount one on each mirror, but they wont work with the mirrors:mad:. does anybody have their cb antennas on their mirrors? if so what mounts did you use and where did you get them?
     
  2. 83ZZ502_Jimmy

    83ZZ502_Jimmy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2001
    Posts:
    3,103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    I mounted mine on the corner of the rear bumper. Helps get the antenna away from engine RF noise.

    John
     
  3. pauly383

    pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Posts:
    16,217
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Mesa , Arizona USA
    Doesn't get the power wires , and coax away from RF noise :wink1: I had to use choke in my power wires .

    As for mirror mounts specific to GM sport mirriors ( which have a channel for the bend in the mirror ) like this [​IMG]

    try here :

    http://www.premiere-electronics.net/store/antennamounts.html

    Big enough name on the net to take money and ship it .
     
  4. muddybuddy

    muddybuddy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Posts:
    8,933
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Fairfax Station VA
    awesome thanks pauly, it came with mounts, but they are to mount on a vertical bar not horizontal like those. perfect. have you tried those?
     
  5. pauly383

    pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Posts:
    16,217
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Mesa , Arizona USA
    Not yet , I will on the K2500 I bought . On the Blazer I used to run a tuned whip with a bootom coil , on a NMO mount with a 3/8 adapter . I ripped that mount off on a tree ( another story I learned from :o ) and have sinced fixed the hole in the roof , and run a magnet mount wilson 1000 so it can fall off if I hit stuff .
     
  6. muddybuddy

    muddybuddy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Posts:
    8,933
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Fairfax Station VA
    its hard to tell if those mounts are small enough to fit on that part of the mirror
     
  7. pauly383

    pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Posts:
    16,217
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Mesa , Arizona USA
    Another angle :
    [​IMG]

    The inside if the bolt on clamp has the elbow channel for the bend on the mirror arm .
     
  8. muddybuddy

    muddybuddy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Posts:
    8,933
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Fairfax Station VA
    thanks, im retarded and looked right over that. i think im going to go ahead and order 2 up. well the mounts it came with are these [​IMG]

    so i guess ill just find another use for them. they would work perfectly on a tool box, so when i eventually get a toolbox ill be set haha
     
  9. sarasotausmc

    sarasotausmc 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Posts:
    769
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Jacksonville NC
    My antenna was a $30 special from Radio Shack that came with the mount, and it works well on the trail. Haven't pushed out to see what type of distance I am getting from my radio.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  10. Brians89K5

    Brians89K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    535
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rialto Ca.
    I will be mounting a whip on my roof rack once I get the cash flow to do so. I figured it would be well isolated from any engine noice. Where are ya'll mounting your CB's? I havn't decided that though. I think that is whats holding putting my CB in. Any ideas?

    ~Brian
     
  11. muddybuddy

    muddybuddy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Posts:
    8,933
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Fairfax Station VA
    here is where im running my cb radio. i currently have a 48" antenna on the roof, but i like the look of the antennas on both sides (i like everthing symmetrical:haha: )

    2961723269.jpg
     
  12. otisringle

    otisringle 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Posts:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    california
    I mounted mine under the ashtray. There were two screws already there and the cb mounted right up to those. Seems like its an alright spot for it.
     
  13. Brians89K5

    Brians89K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    535
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rialto Ca.
    hey muddy buddy whered you get that ledge?

    ~Brian
     
  14. beater_k20

    beater_k20 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2003
    Posts:
    10,276
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Elkhart, IN
    turn the backing plate 90* and it will work fine. ran mine like that for years.
     
  15. muddybuddy

    muddybuddy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Posts:
    8,933
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Fairfax Station VA
    unfortunately, i have no idea. it was on the truck when i bought it. i think you can get them form LMC or JCwhitney, amybe even summit
     
  16. grey88

    grey88 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Posts:
    167
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    iowa
    i have an 88 and i'm runnin my 2 3ft. whips just about identical to sarasotausmc. it works great for me. just my 2 cents.

    adam
     
  17. Chrisblazzer89

    Chrisblazzer89 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    1,966
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts 02301
    Sorry for the hijack but I would like to know wat kind of CB should I get for my first one?
     
  18. randy88k5

    randy88k5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lynchburg, VA, USA
    The brand is called Shelf-It, they also make Rifle-It which is padded and has velcro for a rifle. I bought one and didnt really like it that much.
     
  19. cabledawg

    cabledawg Secret Squirrel Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Posts:
    2,647
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Highway to Hell
    I used to run a 108" SS whip on my s10 years ago and got the best range. Just mounted to the back bumper. As for a good first CB; Midland or Cobra makes a basic 40channel for under $50 and does what a CB is supposed to do. Personally I have a Cobra 185GTL with single side-band and PA functions, but really its overkill for trail use.
     
  20. Metrodps

    Metrodps Strange but nice guy Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    9,726
    Likes Received:
    108
    Location:
    earth
    Yeap Thats how I did them on the 1979 I had but My 1987 has a funky bend on the passengers. But I am using the M1009 radio mount and brush guard on the passenger side fo mine. No pics not installed yet. (one of the winter projects).
     

Share This Page