Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

CB Newbie - Basics

Discussion in 'Communication (CB | GPS | HAM)' started by 1986Blazer, Dec 21, 2001.

1. 1986Blazer

1986Blazer 1/2 ton status

Hey guys.....I am a newbie to the CB world. I am about to buy and install my first CB in my K5.

Can anyone direct me to any past posts that cover the basics about antenna installation - the do's and do not's

I plan to install my antenna (length not known yet) on my rear bumper which I am now building and designing. It will stick out about 7" from the rear of the tailgate.

Also, are there any "must have" features on a CB unit. I was looking at one of the all weather units available from Radio Shack and a few other manufacturers.

Any "basics" help will be welcome.

<a target="_blank" href=http://www.geocities.com/keywestk5/KeyWestK5.html>http://www.geocities.com/keywestk5/KeyWestK5.html</a>
    So I says to him, I said, "get your own monkey."
    1986 K5, 350 GM Crate, 700R4, NP208

2. 2BIG

2BIG Registered Member

Just get a UNiden CB suchas the PC66XL with a Wilson 1000 magnet mount and put it in the center of your metal roof. The whole rig will cost under $100.00. JMO

3. The_Sandman_454

The_Sandman_454 1/2 ton status

I got a Texas Ranger (Made by Ranger Communications) TR966. Radio shop I got it from tuned it up quite a bit (free in fact, since I got it from there, although don't expect a free peak and tune everywhere). Although I paid about $170 for the radio. They also sell versions for less $ of the same brand. Never tried those though. Mine will swing about 22-23 watts on AM and probably (at least) close to twice that on the SSB...

I run a magnet mount Wilson 5000. Only costs a little more than the 1k but both are great antennas.