Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Cb Pa

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Snowman1000, Mar 26, 2007.

  1. Snowman1000

    Snowman1000 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Posts:
    518
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Freeland Michigan
    I know this is a little off topic but im wiring a pa system into my blazer. I wired the P.a. speaker to the radio and it works so I hooked it up to my cb pa port and it works but its really quiet. I used a set of broken headphones and the wires to hook up the jack to the back of the cb.(because I needed the plug in jack) Then I hooked that up to the back of the cb.Is it a possibility that im using too small of a guage of wire and its not letting it get loud enough or do I have bigger problems.
     
  2. k20

    k20 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2001
    Posts:
    5,068
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mineral Springs, NC
    what kinda radio are you using? Dynamike is used as volume control alot of times for the PA outputs.
     
  3. Snowman1000

    Snowman1000 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Posts:
    518
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Freeland Michigan
    Its just an old Corbra nothing special I will try another radio and see if that dosent help. I just didnt want to put an expensive radio in a truck I cant lock up.(no key to door locks and no rear window)
     
  4. lochenjons

    lochenjons 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Posts:
    682
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Santa Cruz, CA
    I used the same kinda wire (headphones). Mines not very loud at all either but I always thought it was the speaker. I'm sure there is some way to make it louder
     
  5. cabledawg

    cabledawg Secret Squirrel Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Posts:
    2,647
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Highway to Hell
    Both my Burbs have a minimum 18g wire to the PA speaker, doesnt need to be sheilded. I agree with K20 that there should be something called dynamike or mike gain to control the volume output of the speaker.
     
  6. pauly383

    pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Posts:
    16,217
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Mesa , Arizona USA
    Most headphones are stereo , the PA plug is mono . Enough of the connecotr may not make good connection . Go to Radio Shack and buy a mono plug , and solder leads to it .

    A PA speaker should be plenty loud with modest power .
     
  7. Avery4jc

    Avery4jc 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Posts:
    10,760
    Likes Received:
    75
    Location:
    Fresno, Ca.
    or make your current plug mono to test it first...just partially unplug it. There are multiple rings that the signal runs through...you can see them on the tip so just partially unplug it and see if it helps.
     
  8. Snowman1000

    Snowman1000 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Posts:
    518
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Freeland Michigan
    I will try tomorow and maybe if im out and about I will swing by radio shack and pick one up.
     
  9. W7NB

    W7NB 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    716
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Springtucky, OR
    Also, Make sure it is a 4 or 8 ohm pa speaker and not a commercial paging speaker that is set up 25 or 70 volts. I see these around at swap meets and people think they will work as CB PA speakers.
     
  10. lochenjons

    lochenjons 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Posts:
    682
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Santa Cruz, CA
    What happens if you use a speaker with too high voltage?
     
  11. W7NB

    W7NB 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    716
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Springtucky, OR
    The speaker does not have high voltage - it uses a transformer to convert commercial 70 volt paging loop to standard 8 ohm impedance for the speaker. Most of the time if it's a commercial PA speaker it will just be really quiet as was described.
     

Share This Page