Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

cb vs amatuer radio?

Discussion in 'Communication (CB | GPS | HAM)' started by dubl_t, Jan 5, 2003.

1. dubl_t

dubl_t 1/2 ton status

I'm pretty new to this, and I'm not talking about one vs the other, but can one radio do both? Or does a guy need 2 radios? I don't have anything yet, but planon taking my test soon. So any suggestions on equipment would be appreciated.

2. rebelk5frk

rebelk5frk 1/2 ton status

Simple answer you need 2 radios. Although if you get a General or higher license then you can operate on HF frequencies then you can get a radio that will also cover the cb band but it is technically illegal to transmit on the cb band with anything than an actual CB.

But to give you a hint, all of those "Export" cb's are actually 10meter amatuer radios that can or have been converted to operate on the cb band. Radio brands such as Connex, SuperStar, Most of the Galaxy and Ranger radios are all 10meter ham radios designed for the illegal cb market.

If you are going for your first test then you are most likely going for Technician which gives you access to all the bands from 50mhz and up. CB is in the 27mhz region.

There is pretty new "cb" band called MURS that is much like the FRS radios that uses freqs near the 2meter band that uses a few old business band frequencies that many 2 meter radios can be modified to work on. Also many of the 73cm ham radios can be modified to work on the FRS band.

(disclaimer: using a ham radio on any band other that what you're licensed for is illegal.) /forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif

3. dubl_t

dubl_t 1/2 ton status

Thanks Rebel. Now, whats the benefit to getting an "export" radio and modifying it to work as a cb? And where can a guy get such radio?

4. Z3PR

Z3PR Banned