Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

changing tranny fluid, have question

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by chevy4x4boy, Apr 14, 2003.

1. chevy4x4boy

chevy4x4boy Registered Member

this might be a dumb question but i'm just getting into the k5 thing and was wondering how you change the tranny fluid? i know i have to take off all the bolts on the pan and drain the fluid but where do i go from there? how many quartz of fluid do i put in and is there and procedure to do after i put the fluid in? i have a 700 r4 tranny and it desperatly needs its life blood changed. thanx for any help that you can give me.
    /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif /forums/images/graemlins/usaflag.gif

2. angrysnowplow

angrysnowplow 1/2 ton status

If the fluid is in real bad shape, you might wanna think about taking it somewhere to have it flushed. You don't come close to changing ALL the fluid by dropping the pan.
    Just a thought /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif

3. heavy4x4

heavy4x4 1/2 ton status

Like stated above, there will be a lot of "old" tranny fluid in there even after dropping the pan. (ie, the lines to the radiator cooler, in the cooler, in the many passages and ports of the valvebody, and the torque converter). So, these can be flushed out at the shop. (Not sure if they flush the torque converter /forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif)