Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Check out the project....

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by blazen91, Oct 12, 2002.

  1. blazen91

    blazen91 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2000
    Posts:
    1,738
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hesperia, Ca 92345
    /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif Project Eeyore
     
  2. zcarczar

    zcarczar 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Apple Valley California
    Looking good
     
  3. Calclips

    Calclips 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2001
    Posts:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Swartz Creek, Michigan/Flint while in school
    Hell yeah, looking good!
     
  4. bryguy00b

    bryguy00b 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Posts:
    5,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, N.Y
    sweetness!!!
     
  5. doc70sub

    doc70sub 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2000
    Posts:
    688
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Thomasville, NC
    /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  6. sapper

    sapper 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2001
    Posts:
    3,052
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NoVa
    How far back did you move the rear axle?
     
  7. Z3PR

    Z3PR Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Posts:
    19,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Everywhere
    I see you have to rebuild your big block. That isn't a bad thing in my opinion. Now you can up the compression and get alittle more power out of it. I'd go 9.5 to 1 if you plan on running pump gas. Higher if you wanta buy the really expencive fuels. I know they cost more, but I really like forged pistons !!!!!
     
  8. blazen91

    blazen91 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2000
    Posts:
    1,738
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hesperia, Ca 92345
    I don't know!! I used a 1 ton frame and rear springs. I turned the springs around(front to back) and that was good for about 3-4 inches. Other wise I just mounted the spring as far back as I could. I will measure the wheel base today and get back to you.
     
  9. blazen91

    blazen91 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2000
    Posts:
    1,738
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hesperia, Ca 92345
    /forums/images/graemlins/frown.gifYa, I pulled the heads off and it HAS to be bored. I was hoping to just hone the and replace the rings. The manual says a max of .005 of ware. I have about .015 in the cylinder and a hole in the #8 piston. The speedo says 46,000. I figured about 146,000. After pulling the heads, I think 246,000!! What is funny is that the inside of the motor is really clean. Very little carbon build up. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  10. FRIZZLEFRY

    FRIZZLEFRY 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2001
    Posts:
    3,271
    Likes Received:
    134
    Location:
    Clovis CA
    Cool project.Lots of cool ideas.The only thing I see that ya may want to add is some sort of stop on the rear shackles to keep them from inverting after being fully extended.My buddy has a shackle setup like that on the front of his Toy and sometimes they flip the wrong way after being fully extened.
     
  11. sapper

    sapper 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2001
    Posts:
    3,052
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NoVa
    I'm glad you pointed that out i didnt even see the shackle, looks like a good idea almost revolver like
     
  12. blazen91

    blazen91 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2000
    Posts:
    1,738
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hesperia, Ca 92345
    I thought about that. If you look I left a little tear drop like peice on the hangers. I have lifted it up with floor jack and as of yet they have not over extened, but there is a pre cation built in incase they do.

    I have been trying to figure out where to run the snorkle to. I want it inside the cab, but don't want all the noise that will come with that. Any ideas?
     

Share This Page