Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Check out these guages

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by Stoopalini, Aug 10, 2001.

  1. Stoopalini

    Stoopalini 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2000
    Posts:
    999
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    I was looking through a magazine when I saw an add for this compeny. This is a little outside of my budget, but I thought a couple of you guys might be interested .......

    <a target="_blank" href=http://www.dakotadigital.com/products/73-87ctruck.htm>http://www.dakotadigital.com/products/73-87ctruck.htm</a>

    Thomas.

    -- '84 K5 Blazer --
     
  2. BurbinOR

    BurbinOR 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    5,829
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Those are sweet............seems after you pay for all the trick VDO's and set up a bezel/wiring, etc. these actually might be worth it.

    What I wonder is how well you can see the gauges in the daytime...........

    <font color=blue>'79 ONE TON TPI K5 - See it at---&gt;<a target="_blank" href=http://www.blazzinor.rockcrawler.com>www.blazzinor.rockcrawler.com</a>
     
  3. Mreetz

    Mreetz 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Posts:
    1,282
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Subs of Denver, Colorado
    That's pretty darn cool!!

    1984 K-5
    4" lift
    35x12.5 MTs
    buildin a 400 for it, any info greatly appreciated
     
  4. Emmettology 101

    Emmettology 101 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    May 9, 2000
    Posts:
    8,126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    FL
    Summit used to sell those.. Then they went ot Cyberdyne.. they still may be able to get them.

    Mike

    <font color=green>"It's like a sore dick deal, You cant beat it!"</font color=green>

    <a target="_blank" href=http://www.geocities.com/emmettology101>www.geocities.com/emmettology101</a>
     
  5. txbartman

    txbartman 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2001
    Posts:
    1,975
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Plano, TX
    Those are sweet!! Guess I know how much to save now!

    Brian
    Click to see <a target="_blank" href=http://tx85gmcguy.alloffroad.com> My 85 Jimmy </a>
    PM me for a great deal on blinker fluid! Best price on the net!
     
  6. Cusm

    Cusm 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2000
    Posts:
    360
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    OK
    I love that they are a straight bolt in, but I prefer the analog style gauges best. I wish VDO or Autometer would make a cluster like this with the normal gauges, I would shell out the $400-$500 for it easy. Maybe we need to start bugging them to do this, send em some photos of the great jobs Solowookie and some others have done, tell them this is what they need to be doing.

    Good lord. The rod up that man's butt must have a rod up it's butt.
     
  7. BlazerGuy

    BlazerGuy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2000
    Posts:
    9,206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    abcde
    Good idea! I like the look of the digital but I prefer the analog. But it does look cool

    ~~'84 K5~~
    Check it out at:
    <a target="_blank" href=http://www.k5.rockcrawler.com>www.k5.rockcrawler.com</a>
     
  8. Cusm

    Cusm 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2000
    Posts:
    360
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    OK
    Solowookie, May I have your permission to send a photo of your set up to VDO? I do not want to step on anyone's toes, especially after all the hardwork and trial &amp; error they have went through. Thanks

    Good lord. The rod up that man's butt must have a rod up it's butt.
     
  9. newyorkin

    newyorkin 1 ton status

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Posts:
    16,555
    Likes Received:
    157
    Location:
    Los Estados Unitos
    Those look really cool! I don't know, though, I don't really look directly at my guages a lot, just the position of the needle at a glance. These might take some getting used to. I'd guess if they come with new senders, they're probably pretty darn precise.

    Ratch
    <a target="_blank" href=http://k5.8m.com>k5.8m.com</a>
    **Ever stop to think... Then forget to start again?**
     
  10. J.R.

    J.R. Guest

    i know what im getting for christmas!!! i have digital gauges in my tahoe and i love them. it would be great to have them in my k5 also!!

    BIG BLOCK MAN
    "MORE POWER"!!
     
  11. 84_Chevy_K10

    84_Chevy_K10 Banned

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Posts:
    17,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IL, USA
    I like analog gages better, but that aluminum plate for $92 might be the perfect idea to get them to go in! Autometer here I come (after frame-off).

    Tim
    '84 Chevy K10, lifted, loud, fast, and 3/4 ton axles
     
  12. mudhog

    mudhog THEGAME Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2000
    Posts:
    17,899
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    portland oregon
  13. solowookie

    solowookie 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2001
    Posts:
    3,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wyoming
    <blockquote><font class="small">In reply to:</font><hr>

    Solowookie, May I have your permission to send a photo of your set up to VDO? I do not want to step on anyone's toes, especially after all the hardwork and trial &amp; error they have went through. Thanks

    <hr></blockquote>

    hey, no problem you are more then welcome to send pics to who ever you would like.

    <font color=blue> Jeff - may the force be with you</font color=blue>
     
  14. sapper

    sapper 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2001
    Posts:
    3,052
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NoVa
    how do set the odometer?

    We are surronded. That simplifies our problem.
     
  15. solowookie

    solowookie 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2001
    Posts:
    3,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wyoming
    there is an option where you can change the odometer with a button on the front of the speedometer.

    <font color=blue> Jeff - may the force be with you</font color=blue>
     
  16. ironmikek5

    ironmikek5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 31, 2001
    Posts:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Man, those things look awesome - the blue light makes it even cooler. I wish they had a larger pic of the set-up, so you could see how they'd all look together.

    <font color=red>"Oil? That's not my oil...that was there before" </font color=red>[​IMG]
     
  17. thebigdaddyof2

    thebigdaddyof2 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2000
    Posts:
    2,053
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Has anyone bought one of the aluminum trim plates with the intention of mounting aftermarket gauges? If the plate is thick enough, that would be a great starting point for a slick gauge setup.

    thebigdaddyof2
     
  18. solowookie

    solowookie 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2001
    Posts:
    3,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wyoming
    actually I've pics from more then one member thats done that; that's where I got the idea!

    <font color=blue> Jeff - may the force be with you</font color=blue>
     
  19. CaptCrunch

    CaptCrunch 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2001
    Posts:
    3,596
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Minnesota
    These are awsome guages. We put these into my buddy's camaro. Another awsome feature of the setup is the speedo is totally recalibratable... so anytime you cahnge gears or tires sizes you can correct the speedo in a matter of minutes.

    -Mikey
    1987 Chevy K5 Blazer- 350 TBI
    <a target="_blank" href=http://www.geocities.com/milnerlives_2000/blazer.htm>http://www.geocities.com/milnerlives_2000/blazer.htm</a>
     
  20. thebigdaddyof2

    thebigdaddyof2 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2000
    Posts:
    2,053
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Hey Solowookie, these pics you have, did they use this panel or did they make their own. I will probably call the manufacturer to find out the thickness of this panel. If it is thick enough, I would consider mounting gauges directly in it.

    thebigdaddyof2
     

Share This Page