Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

checking fuel pressure

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by tx_sub, Mar 19, 2004.

  1. tx_sub

    tx_sub 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Posts:
    548
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denton, TEXAS
    what is the easiest way to test the fuel pressure going to the tbi in a 91 350 tbi burb? does it have that port to hook up a guage? schraeder valve it might be called. or do i have to plumb in a valve or tap into the line with a guage? thanks
     
  2. R72K5

    R72K5 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Posts:
    8,905
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    central IL
    will have to tap or go inline at the TBI somehow


    is truck not running/starting right? what symptoms ?
     
  3. 4xcrazy

    4xcrazy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Posts:
    9,472
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Olympia/Lacey, Washington
    Yeah, i haven't actually seen a permanent fuel pressure gauge for the TBI, auto parts stores sell the inline tool that you unbolt the hard line from the TB unit and install this tool the plug in the hard line into the tool, but as i mentioned, it's not a permanent deal like a setup on a TPI unit with the schrader valve, those were nice.

    Or do as was mentioned in the previous post and cut the hard line somewhere and install your own kind of fuel pressure gauge. /forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif
     
  4. fortcollinsram

    fortcollinsram 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Posts:
    2,261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Collins, CO
    Go to NAPA and have them look in the Echlin/Carb. Illustrated book. I don't ahve the P/N off hand, but I can get it for you tomorrow.

    Anyhow, there is an inline adapter that is made by echlin the goes between the fuel supply line and the throttle body. Then it has a 1/4"NPT port that you can put whatever you want in..I threaded in an 1/4" NPT--> -4AN/JIC fitting and put the AutoMeter braided stainless line on it and have a Mech FP gauge mounted on my hood....

    I will get the part number tomorrow and post some pics of my FP gauge...

    Chris
     
  5. 4xcrazy

    4xcrazy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Posts:
    9,472
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Olympia/Lacey, Washington
    Yeah, post that part number when you get it, i would be interested in this item as well. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
    I have the old fuel pressure gauge from my Iroc-Z i had, just no way of hooking it up to my current setup on the Burb, that would be nice to have that hooked up again.
     

Share This Page