Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Chevy 350 1-piece Rear main seal R&R

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by jberg62, Mar 19, 2003.

1. jberg62

jberg62 1/2 ton status

Hi all,
    I've never done this before but I figured while the Tranny was out (being swapped) I'd like to take care of the leaking one-piece rear main seal.
    If some kind person would please give me a short block of instruction on what to do to accomplish this task I'd really appreciate it.
    I've heard a lot of folks say that it's really no big deal, but I guess they had someone to show them how it was done for their first time.
    Anyhow, I'd appreciate a tip or two...or the whole procedure /forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif
    Thanks a bunch!
    Jim

2. fortcollinsram

fortcollinsram 1/2 ton status

Well first and foremost, you must remove the transmisson/ t-case and the clutch/ Torque converter from the engine next, you must remove the flywheel/flexplate to expose the rear main...on the 350, the seal is in its own aluminum adapter that bolts to the block.

Next you need to remove the rear main...this can be done two ways...you can either remove the seal from the adpater while the adapter is still bolted to the block by prying it out with a screwdriver or similar device. I used the alternate method of removing the adpater for the block and THEN prying the seal out of the adapter...once the old seal is out, clean the adapter and the block mating surface and press the new seal into the adapter...I simply used a piece of 2x4 to push the seal in...When you place the adpater back on the block you must replace the paper gasket on the upper half of the adapter... then simply bolt the adapter back on the block, making sure not to nick the seal on the crank as you slide it on...