Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Chevy 350 initial timing?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by gm guy, Jun 26, 2004.

  1. gm guy

    gm guy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Posts:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver Island but work in Ft Mcmurray Alberta C
    I am setting the timing on a sbc, and need to know the stock spec. Any idea? /forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif
     
  2. Hossbaby50

    Hossbaby50 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Posts:
    8,972
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    for a carbed motor the specs are

    4* BTDC on a 305
    6* BTDC on a 350

    On a TBI motor

    0*

    on a TPI motor

    6-8* BTDC
     
  3. 84_Chevy_K10

    84_Chevy_K10 Banned

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Posts:
    17,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IL, USA
    4* on a TBI 454 IIRC, 0* for a 350
     
  4. Hossbaby50

    Hossbaby50 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Posts:
    8,972
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    He asked about SBC's. /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif I will process the TBI 454 into my brain though. Good info to know.

    Harley
     
  5. gm guy

    gm guy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Posts:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver Island but work in Ft Mcmurray Alberta C
    OK, thanks. Now were should the vacume advance be hooked up to?
     
  6. pauly383

    pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Posts:
    16,217
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Mesa , Arizona USA
    [ QUOTE ]
    Now were should the vacume advance be hooked up to?

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Which carb are you running ? My q-jet (later non computer with bowl vent to canistor) has vacuum advance on the pass side front near the choke , and works perfect. /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif
     
  7. gm guy

    gm guy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Posts:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver Island but work in Ft Mcmurray Alberta C
    It is a quad jet carb, the vacume was hooked up were you described but there was no vacume at idle. I hooked up vacume from another another outlet on the carb (wich did have vacume) and the timing light showed the same with or without it hooked up. This means the diaphram on the dist is faulty. Right? /forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif
     
  8. pauly383

    pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Posts:
    16,217
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Mesa , Arizona USA
    The vacuum advance is ported vacuum, you don't need it advanced at idle, only on accelleration and part throttle cruise . I would assume the distributor vacuum can is bad . Take the advance can out of the distributor, push on the rod , put your finger on the vacuum nipple and let go of rod , it should stay in one spot until you remove finger ( OR you could suck on nipple to see if rod moves ) /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif
     
  9. Thunder

    Thunder 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2000
    Posts:
    8,946
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Northeast Nevada
    Yup. I know my rod moves when I suck on nipples.
     
  10. supersize75k5

    supersize75k5 OrganDonorRacing.com

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Posts:
    8,832
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    gilbert az
    jus t acall it good tinming whrn two gils and a guy get togthter at the same time i jhoe this works for me kayter
     

Share This Page