Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Chip off the old computer???

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by evilandangry, Jan 13, 2003.

1. evilandangry

evilandangry 1/2 ton status

I have been considering swaping the chip in my computer. I have added a hi flow cat with 3 inch exaust and a k&n filter and feel that the power band could be tweeked a bit. I am new to this sight but I did do a search and found very little info. Please dont tell me that computer chips are like chrome shocks for your engine!! /forums/images/graemlins/eek.gif

2. dyeager535

dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

Ok, *I* won't tell you. /forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif

There was a post not too long ago on chips, but seriously, the reality is, to get the most performance, the chips need fine tuned to every single application for best performance in all aspects. The hypertechs and what not usually increase timing, (and the one review I saw was only higher in the RPM band) in some cases so much you need higher octane gas, yet don't deliver performance.

3. imiceman44

imiceman44 1 ton status

If that is all you did, just drive it for an hour in different conditions of load, no load climbs decents and the computer would recalibrate to optimize.
    If you change cam or heads and you want real calibration, customefis.com is the place to check, the guy will optimize it for you, he will lend you a laptop and you will plug it in and together you will get it done then he will burn a permanent chip for you. But it's not worth it with only exhaust and filter change.

4. BigRed89

BigRed89 1/2 ton status