Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Chips...who uses 'em?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by fortcollinsram, Feb 19, 2002.

  1. fortcollinsram

    fortcollinsram 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Posts:
    2,261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Collins, CO
    Chips...who uses \'em?

    Was wondering who out there had a "Performance Chip" installed in there truck...I was looking at getting the JET 6-pack chip in my 1987 K5...What are all your thought on JET chip or any others...Thanks for the input... Thanks in advance...

    Chris

    Was that a speed bump? No, just a Rice Rocket </font color=red> <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/fortcollinsram>My 87 Blazer</a>
     
  2. 90K5

    90K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2000
    Posts:
    3,719
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lubbock, TX
    Re: Chips...who uses \'em?

    I have a Hypertech Thermomaster chip in mine, but it was there when I bought the truck. You are supposed to run Premium gas, but I run 87 and see no difference in performance, and no detonation, knocking, pinging, etc. Wish I could tell you more about the performance gains though...

    90K5
     
  3. DukeBoy

    DukeBoy Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Posts:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pa
    Re: Chips...who uses \'em?

    I have JET chip in my 88. I installed it after heddars and MSD6A and other small mods. I did notice an improvement, better idle, better shifts etc. Is the 6-pak the one with 6 different programs? don't know much about it.

    88 GMC 350-700R4, 10bolt front, 14boltrear, 4.10, 35" BFG, 6" Skyjacker, soft top, custom metalwork
     
  4. Thunder

    Thunder 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2000
    Posts:
    8,946
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Northeast Nevada
    Re: Chips...who uses \'em?

    I'm running a stage one chip from Blazer pics

    <font color=blue>Nevada... Where the pavement ends and the west begins
     
  5. solowookie

    solowookie 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2001
    Posts:
    3,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Re: Chips...who uses \'em?

    I'm running a fastchip also, but I had to have a custom chip for vortec heads and 454 TBI on my 350.

    <font color=blue> Jeff - may the force be with you</font color=blue>
    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Jeffs-Stuff>link to k5's</a>
     
  6. BurbinOR

    BurbinOR 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    5,829
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
  7. solowookie

    solowookie 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2001
    Posts:
    3,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Re: Chips...who uses \'em?

    just waiting for you to show us the way... [​IMG]

    <font color=blue> Jeff - may the force be with you</font color=blue>
    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Jeffs-Stuff>link to k5's</a>
     
  8. DPI

    DPI 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2000
    Posts:
    2,792
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    In the Burbs close to Tulsa, OK
    Re: Chips...who uses \'em?

    Jeff,
    Can you give me some more details on your 454 TBI set-up on your 350 with the vortec heads. What CFM does that TBI flow? What intake did you use? Did you need an adapter plate for the bigger butterflies? You can PM me if you want with the details.
    Thanks, I have been looking for more information on this set-up for a while.
    dp

    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/albuo71>My K5 Stuff</a>
     
  9. MudNurI

    MudNurI 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2001
    Posts:
    2,113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    VT
    Re: Chips...who uses \'em?

    we don't have them on any of our trucks- but everyone in the family had them on their 'vettes. I think it made the biggest difference on brother in laws 88- not as much on our 89, and on the 94, it was so quick to begin with, it didnt seem to make "much" difference, of course thats a car, built for speed, with aerodynamics, not a truck, built like a brick ...

    anyone have any ##'s as to what it did /does for your truck?

    Brandy

    HELP!!!!! I need 16.5x 12 rims -------please please please!!!!!

    oh, still LOVING the new dmax as well!
     
  10. CaptCrunch

    CaptCrunch 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2001
    Posts:
    3,596
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Re: Chips...who uses \'em?

    90k5... the Hypertechs rely on a lot of ignition timing advance for more power, thus if you run lower grade fuel you knock sensor is just gonna hear the detetination and retard the timing. So basically then you will feel litlle, no, or maybe even worse performance.

    -Mikey
    1987 Chevy K5 Blazer- 350 TBI
    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/captcrunch>http://coloradok5.com/gallery/captcrunch</a>
     
  11. CaptCrunch

    CaptCrunch 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2001
    Posts:
    3,596
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Re: Chips...who uses \'em?

    I agree with BlazinOR on the only way to totally tune is to DIY. Unfortunetly I think doing it with burning proms all the time is a PIA. I have debated about going with a custom system like the Haltechs or the F.A.S.T. systems. I believe both have options that will allow you to use the stock wiring from GM as well. Both allow you to change on the fly with a cheap laptop.

    -Mikey
    1987 Chevy K5 Blazer- 350 TBI
    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/captcrunch>http://coloradok5.com/gallery/captcrunch</a>
     
  12. solowookie

    solowookie 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2001
    Posts:
    3,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Re: Chips...who uses \'em?

    actually I'm not sure what the CFM of the 454 is, but thats why turbo city recommeneded it. actually I'm still not convinced that their modified 350 wouldn't have given enough extra CFM for the requirements of the engine.

    at any rate I think the best way to accomodate the 454 TBI is to just take it to a machine shop, and have them bore the intake bigger.

    my setup right now is fairly precarious, but I didn't really have a choice at the time. I live 45 + miles from any machine shop, and I blew the engine in both k5's at the same time (my only 2 vehicles). one of them was still limping a long, but not enough to make a trip like that.

    to make a long story short I am waiting to get my other k5 outta the shop so I can take that intake off and get it bored to accomodate the 454 TBI. right now it had a pretty good shelf there. I'm also going to advance the cam 10 degree's when I do that.

    <font color=blue> Jeff - may the force be with you</font color=blue>
    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Jeffs-Stuff>link to k5's</a>
     
  13. Penthos

    Penthos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2002
    Posts:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Metro Detroit area, MI, USA
    Re: Chips...who uses \'em?

    When I put in my new crate engine, I used Holley's #502-6 TBI (670cfm) unit and had a custom made chip made for it (from Howell Engineering). The company made sure they had all the details on the truck, including what the computer serial number is, and it works just great.

    '91 Blazer V10, 350HO
     
  14. DPI

    DPI 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2000
    Posts:
    2,792
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    In the Burbs close to Tulsa, OK
    Re: Chips...who uses \'em?

    Penthos,
    Was that Holley a direct bolt on as far as the electically connections?
     
  15. Penthos

    Penthos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2002
    Posts:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Metro Detroit area, MI, USA
    Re: Chips...who uses \'em?

    No, there we two wire pigtails that had to be spliced into the wiring, but that was about it for electrical.

    '91 Blazer V10, 350HO
     
  16. solowookie

    solowookie 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2001
    Posts:
    3,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Re: Chips...who uses \'em?

    I've heard great things about howell industries. I kinda wish I would have went there to have my custom chip burnt cuz I think they will burn custom chips too, and are much cheaper.

    <font color=blue> Jeff - may the force be with you</font color=blue>
    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Jeffs-Stuff>link to k5's</a>
     
  17. shawnboy

    shawnboy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2001
    Posts:
    468
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada, eh.
    Re: Chips...who uses \'em?

    I run a hypertech stage 2 chip in my 88. It did make a noticble all round performance improvement but you do have to use 91 or better gas. I think I will go with a custom chip on my 90.

    <font color=red>If you are having too much fun it's probably illegal.</font color=red>
     
  18. CaptCrunch

    CaptCrunch 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2001
    Posts:
    3,596
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Re: Chips...who uses \'em?

    Turbo City reported the 454 and modified TBI's flow approx. 590 cfm. The injectors are not included.

    -Mikey
    1987 Chevy K5 Blazer- 350 TBI
    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/captcrunch>http://coloradok5.com/gallery/captcrunch</a>
     

Share This Page