Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

choke light always on.....suggestions?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by jackedjimmy350, Oct 23, 2002.

  1. jackedjimmy350

    jackedjimmy350 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2000
    Posts:
    3,141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Smith, Arkansas 72901
    /forums/images/graemlins/1zhelp.gif
     
  2. 85 blazer

    85 blazer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Avoca NY
    PULL THE BULB LOL LOL /forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif /forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif /forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif /forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif /forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif /forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif /forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif /forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif
     
  3. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,979
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    problem with the oil pressure switch perhaps...don't think there is anything else that will cause this, besides bad choke wiring or a bad choke. (and those are guesses too, never spent time on electric chokes, just know they use an oil pressure switch)
     
  4. jackedjimmy350

    jackedjimmy350 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2000
    Posts:
    3,141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Smith, Arkansas 72901
    ok heres a couple more interesting tid-bits of info..it seems to idle a bit high after i put it in park before i get ready to shut her off (same as when i start it up in the mornin)...kinda jumps a little when you put it park or reverse. the other thingis i just had new autometer gauges put in, and the new oil pressure gauge seems to work more like a tach if you know what i mean. anymore ideas????

    thanks for the /forums/images/graemlins/1zhelp.gif
     
  5. trouble1

    trouble1 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Posts:
    346
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    travelling, probably lost
    I'm guessing you had an electric oil gauge put in...I had the same deal happen when I switched my gauges installed. Heard the same problem from several others. I yanked mine out and went to a mechanical guage, in my opinion it does purrfect.Choke Light....Cant help you, I removed that bulb a long time ago.....Then again, untill last week, I dont think my electric choke was ever hooked up. /forums/images/graemlins/eek.gif /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif
     
  6. jackedjimmy350

    jackedjimmy350 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2000
    Posts:
    3,141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Smith, Arkansas 72901
    yep, electric gauge. ill have to go back to the shop and see what they say they can do about it. is the choke really necessary, lol? /forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif
     
  7. jackedjimmy350

    jackedjimmy350 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2000
    Posts:
    3,141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Smith, Arkansas 72901
    btt /forums/images/graemlins/1zhelp.gif
     
  8. BowtieBlazer

    BowtieBlazer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2001
    Posts:
    2,462
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, Louisiana
    cured my choke light by swapping the fuel filter, and hosing the crap out of my carb externals with carb cleaner....also check that the three screws on your choke are atleast tight...it not hard to adjust the choke did mine myself last week!
     
  9. eshorvath

    eshorvath 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Posts:
    373
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    Mine did the SAME THING>.
    Make sure the wire on the choke switch, behind the Distributer, is connected GOOD, and that it is not broken. If that wire is broken, loose, or off, it will cause this problem.
    Ed
     
  10. MilpitasK5

    MilpitasK5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Posts:
    889
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Milpitas, Ca.
    Sorry to drop in on this thread but what was the process for adjusting the choke? Mine is actually rivetted.
     
  11. MilpitasK5

    MilpitasK5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Posts:
    889
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Milpitas, Ca.
    You probably already checked but I had the same problem and it was just the fuse. /forums/images/graemlins/crazy.gif
    Just my two cents since I busted in on your thread! /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif
     
  12. jackedjimmy350

    jackedjimmy350 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2000
    Posts:
    3,141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Smith, Arkansas 72901
    its cool dude, any and all info is accepted and much appreciated! /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  13. jackedjimmy350

    jackedjimmy350 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2000
    Posts:
    3,141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Smith, Arkansas 72901
    but if the wire is disconnected, wouldnt the light not come on?
     

Share This Page