Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

clunk in D only..but not over D

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by bryguy00b, May 27, 2003.

1. bryguy00b

bryguy00b 3/4 ton status

ok when im in regular D..(not overdrive) when i stop i get this clunk right befor i come to a full stop..but when its in overdrive...it doesnt do it!..any ideas on that!? thanx..

2. DieselDan

DieselDan 1/2 ton status

I'm no tranny expert, but it sounds like the converter is saying goodbye /forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif My tranny (700R) started doing the same thing this past winter. The clunking got worse over a few weeks. I eyeballed the flexplate first, checked the driveshafts, spring mounts - nothing found. Finally the tranny got scary noisey, I was afraid of being stranded. But would quiet down when the torque converter was in Lock-up. A SWAG (scientific wild-ass guess) would surmise the converter clutch was realigning the stator when it engaged. /forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif

3. bryguy00b

bryguy00b 3/4 ton status

im a little lost hear..what exactly is it when its in lock up?

4. Flexy K20

Flexy K20 1/2 ton status

Yeah mine has been doing that for the last 6 months (since I bought the truck) No change, hasn't gotten better or worse. Let me know if anyone figures it out. Later
    -fLeXy K20

5. Flexy K20

Flexy K20 1/2 ton status

700R4's troque converters lock up at certain times (spinning a certain number of rpms etc... I dont really remember) They do this so you get better gas mileage etc, because they are not constantly slipping. Later
    -fLeXy K20

6. georgiared84

georgiared84 1/2 ton status