Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Cluster swap

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by DaneW, Jan 29, 2003.

1. DaneW

DaneW Registered Member

I'm thinking of doing a cluster swap. I have a the kind with the large speedo and gas. I'm gonna buy one with a larger spedo and tach. I'm a newbie and don't know how to hook up a tach. Will the wires I need already be in place or will I have to pull the wires from another truck. As you can see I don't know what I'm doin. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks much. /forums/images/graemlins/truck.gif

2. pismorat

pismorat 1/2 ton status

Alright, I did mine along time ago, and since then have installed an MSD ignition which changes everything. As far as I can remember, you need a 'hot' wire and a ground wire. And you need a wire coming off the distributor cap. On mine(HEI) it is one of the ports in the back of the cap(single prong). Then you will probably need a wire that connects to the lights in your cab so the tach lights will turn on when all the others do. All the wires should be there except the one off the dist. Pick something up at an automotive store for that. As I said, it's been a long time, but I hope this helped a little. /forums/images/graemlins/truck.gif

3. 77fixer

77fixer 1/2 ton status

I did mine as part of a wiring swap. I pulled the wiring out of an 80, but for the tach there were 3 wires, ignition hot, ground and tach. The lighting is handled by the circuit board in the cluster the same as on the fuel gauge.

Brett /forums/images/graemlins/burb.gif /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif

4. dremu

dremu Officious Thread Derailer Premium Member

As others say, it should be easy.