Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Cobra 148 GTL

Discussion in 'Communication (CB | GPS | HAM)' started by bosifus, Sep 5, 2000.

1. bosifus

bosifus Registered Member

Hello all, I am new to the world of cb's and have a quick question. I picked up a older Cobra model 148 GTL at the swap meet the other day and was wondering if this is a good cb or what? I paid $30 for it and hope I did not get ripped off,it does work also as I hooked it up on the spot.Any info is appreciated, Thanks. (By the way this thing is big and looks bad a$$, just need to figure out where to put it now?)

2. Emmettology 101

Emmettology 101 3/4 ton status

That is Cobras Top o' the line unit.... That is a great deal for $30. ANy idea how old it is?

Mike [​IMG]
    See <font color=green>EMMETT</font color=green> -&gt; http://emmett.coloradok5.com

3. bosifus

The guy I bought it from said he had it for a couple of years after he wreaked his 4x so I really don't know.He did say he had bought it new though. Judging from the wear on it I would say it was used very little. I could probably open it up and find a date on the board inside or maybe run the fcc number? Do you know if there are better or worse years for this thing or are they pretty much the same internaly? Thanks.

4. Emmettology 101

There is probably a date either by the serial number or on the board inside, but I guess the newer Cobras are made by Maxxon and Kraco now and are not a good quality. As longer as yours is older than I dont see where that would come into play..

Sounds like you got a good deal and you got a really nice unit!!!!!!! I would maybe take it somewhere to have the juce turned up adn payed with a litte. Of course they may open it up and find that already done!

Enjoy!!

Mike [​IMG]