Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

coil wire ??

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by RESTORE89, Mar 30, 2001.

  1. RESTORE89

    RESTORE89 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2001
    Posts:
    548
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CHAS SC
    there are 4 wires coming out of the top of my coil 89 tbi 350, 2 red and 2 white, one of the whites has a connector on the end, and does not go anywhere,, what is this wire for???
     
  2. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    The factory tach. The wires for most "options" are in all the wiring harnesses. That way GM only has to stock one wiring harness part number to fit all the trucks. If the option isn't installed, then the connector just goes to nowhere. [​IMG]

    Look at the harness that goes to the tail lights. It's bundled and tie wrapped underneath the truck, because the same wiring harness also fits short and longbed pickups. [​IMG] GM's the king of finding multiple uses for the same parts!

    <font color=black>HarryH3 - '75 K5</font color=black>
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://ThunderTruck.ColoradoK5.com>http://ThunderTruck.ColoradoK5.com</A>
     
  3. mudhog

    mudhog THEGAME Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2000
    Posts:
    17,899
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    portland oregon
    harryh3 is right it is the factory tach wire

    77blazer see it at<A target="_blank" HREF=http://community.webshots.com/user/ssmith6333>http://community.webshots.com/user/ssmith6333</A>[​IMG]
     
  4. 87K54WD

    87K54WD 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2000
    Posts:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    I was wondering about this too. So, could I hook-up an aftermarket tach to it without cutting up the GM wire harness? Also, I've noticed that I have an orange single wire near the fire wall. It can come out all the way to the TBI unit. What is this wire for. Seems like I was told before that it was for lighting the tach. Is that right?
     
  5. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    Yep, most tachs can hook right to it. Check the directions though, as some tachs will tell you to hook them up differently. Don't know what that orange wire is for. You might need to look that one up in the shop manual wiring diagrams.

    <font color=black>HarryH3 - '75 K5</font color=black>
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://ThunderTruck.ColoradoK5.com>http://ThunderTruck.ColoradoK5.com</A>
     
  6. RESTORE89

    RESTORE89 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2001
    Posts:
    548
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CHAS SC
    my truck has the huge fuel gauge next to the speedo, could i get a factory tach from a junck yard truck, and just install it, and if so, where would the fuel gauge go. i had the dash out already to repair the little cable for the shifter pointer on the column, so i do not think that would be to hard.
     

Share This Page