Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

cold start vs hot start wtf

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by bobalob, Oct 29, 2005.

1. bobalob

bobalob 1/2 ton status

So for cold starts two pumps and she will fire right up but if engine is warm, like when getting gas or running errands, I can pump as much as I want but get nothing so I have to crank it with WOT and that gives me about 50% chance of start up. Failing that it takes about 30 minutes for it to cool down enough to want to start. :mad: I have a carter afb on a 350 and am wondering if choke is supposed to close on warm start or is that just on cold? :confused: I guess I just figured when I put the clutch all the way to the floor on warm start up it would close choke. maybe I just invented that in my head :( . Obviously I am a noob so any thoughts, advice , or trouble shooting would be great. :bow:

2. 1977k5

1977k5 3/4 ton status Vendor

Pumping the gas is what sets the choke (at least on every carb I have ever dealt with). The choke should still close (activate) even when the engine is warm (if you pump the gas), then when the engine starts it will sense that the engine is warm and the choke will open. Your problem sounds like vapor lock to me. It could be a general carb problem as well (you may need to rebuild and readjust your carb). I would make sure that none of your fuel lines are running close to any heat source, and consider switching to an electric fuel pump (you can get one from any auto parts store for ~$30-40).

3. 3 on the tree

3 on the tree 1/2 ton status