Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

College student looking for off-road engineering experience

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by mat_burn, Nov 3, 2004.

1. mat_burn

mat_burn Newbie

I'm studying mechanical engineering right now and want to get some real, hands-on experience designing and/or fabricating custom off-road parts. Do you have any suggestions on good places to look or people to talk to about internship/employment opportunities? Thanks!

2. miniwally

miniwally 1/2 ton status Premium Member

Where are you located?
    What types of previous experience?
    There are always people looking to have their fab shops cleaned etc. That is an easy way to get into the bus. and start making contacts. After a while you can begin moving towards helping a fab guy with easier brackets and things and start learning the trade.

BTW Fill out you profile when you get the chance.

3. fordcummins1

fordcummins1 1/2 ton status

Telling us a geograhpic location on where you are or would like to go would be a great start.

On Edit I see that I just got beat to making this point

4. 1-ton

1-ton 1/2 ton status Premium Member

It all depends on where you are living right now. If you live any where around North Carolina or Indianapolis, then you should try to get on with a NASCAR or NHRA team; but if you live on the west coast, then you could try getting involved with either "Best in the Dessert" or the SCORE off road racing sanctioning body, in order to make connections with off road race teams.

5. Triaged

Triaged 1/2 ton status

6. tx_sub

tx_sub 1/2 ton status