Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

colorado emissions question

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by bettabruce, Feb 7, 2005.

1. bettabruce

bettabruce Registered Member

i'm new to CK5 and not real familiar with posting in forums. i own a

75 K5 and live in jackson, ms. i want to fix up my truck, but i know

little about the game. i plan to move to colorado in about a year

and was told that my K5 won't pass emissions there. any info would be

greatly appreciated. i'm thinking of the colorado springs area.

thanks much.

2. Cricket

Cricket 3/4 ton status

Colorado has one standardized test center, Envirotest. You'll need to bring in your K5 to one of the centers near you. They will do a visual inspection for exhaust/emission components, check your gas cap(s) for vacuum seal and run your vehicle on a dyno with probes in th ex-pipe. There is an idle test and then a run-up to highway speed test. They'll test it twice for each.

If you fail either test you will have to address it before you can get your license plates. However they will apply the cost of the first test to a re-test within a certain period of time. In CO you have to have a valid emission test and proof of insurance to get your plates.

Also 82 and older vehicles get tested once a year at 15.00 a pop. Newer vehicles are 25.00 every 2 years.

I think that covers it, if I missed something somebody else jump in.

3. OrangeCrushK10

OrangeCrushK10 1/2 ton status

Don't forget that he has an '81 or older vehicle which means that he has to go to an '81 or older test facility. They're normally a bit more relaxed about the rules than envirotest, but same basic things apply.

Atleast that's how it works in Denver. I'm not sure in Colorado Springs since I haven't gotten a test here yet. Guess I'll have to find out soon, though.