Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Compressor coming on

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by Rebel88, Sep 11, 2000.

1. Rebel88

Rebel88 1/2 ton status

When I start my 88 and let it idle the A/C compressor keeps clicking on and off. The heater/A/C controls are all of and the fan is off. I played with it one day and ended up pulling the fuse out of the fuse box for Heater/A/C. Then when I started it up it stopped happening. Is there a short in my switches or a bad connection or what? If anyone has had this problem or knows what to do please let me know.

Thanx

Have you driven OVER a Ford lately?

2. sosamantx

sosamantx 1/2 ton status

<font color=blue>I am not an expert on A/C, but it does sound like there may be a short in the switch or lever. There is a clutch cycling switch, however it should not have power if the switch is off. - Steve :)</font color=blue>

<font color=blue>Steve Sosa a.k.a. "sosaman"</font color=blue>
    http://sosaman.home.texas.net/carpics.html

3. Rebel88

Rebel88 1/2 ton status

hey sosaman,

where is the cycling switch? right now i am riding around with no fuse in the fuse block so i have no vents/no nothing. i appreciate anything you can tell me.

Thanx

Eddie

Have you driven OVER a Ford lately?

4. Eagle86K5

Eagle86K5 1/2 ton status

There is a connector on the front of the compressor that supplies voltage to the clutch, remove the connector and replace the fuse, it should not cycle on you now.

5. Thunder

Thunder 3/4 ton status

There is a switch that is activated when the heater controll lever is put in the Defrost posistion .This switch cycles the A/C compressor on and off even when heating. It designed to do this to keep the compressor lubed up and cycle the refrigerant in the winter.