Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Computer Chip?? Can someone recommend one.

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by crazyhorse, Oct 10, 2002.

  1. crazyhorse

    crazyhorse Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Posts:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Michigan
    My truck runs Slugish and someone recommened to get a chip in it but I can't find out who makes one. /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif
    Can anyone Help
     
  2. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,982
    Likes Received:
    191
    Location:
    Roy WA
    Re: Computer Chip?? Can someone recommend one. (Running Rich)

    Whoever told you that is well, lets just say not very educated on the subject matter.

    You've gotta figure out WHY its running rich. Are you throwing codes? Have you had someone hook a scanner (or winALDL : ) up to it?

    Resist the temptation to blame the computer, or let anyone else blame the computer, because they don't understand it.

    These systems have a diagnostic port for a reason, use it.
     
  3. Stoopalini

    Stoopalini 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2000
    Posts:
    999
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Re: Computer Chip?? Can someone recommend one. (Running Rich)

    Your profile says 'Flowmaster Exhaust' --- has the whole exhaust been upgraded? If you have an exhaust leak before the O2 sensor(s), the computer will think it's running lean and richen it way up.

    I agree with Dorian, find out why it's running rich before you put in a performance chip. Most likely, it will still run rich after the chip --- unless you have more mod's than your profile lists (like a cam or something)?

    Thomas.
     
  4. k20

    k20 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2001
    Posts:
    5,068
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mineral Springs, NC
    Re: Computer Chip?? Can someone recommend one. (Running Rich)

    Do what these guys said first, but www.jetchip.com makes 2, a stage one or a stage 2. I got the powerpack which has a filter, thermostat, and chip. also hypertech makes one i think. /forums/images/graemlins/truck.gif
     
  5. Thunder

    Thunder 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2000
    Posts:
    8,946
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Northeast Nevada
    I'm running one of thesefastchip.com
    It works good for me.
    But a chip wont help if there is something else wrong.Everything else in the system has to be working properly. Also a good exhaust and low restriction intake system (K&N) will help you get the most out of the chip.
    What kind of gears are you running. if you have anything less than 3.40s. You might not have enough gear to turn your tires, making your rig feel sluggish
     
  6. smack

    smack 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2000
    Posts:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    I'd agree with all the previous responses -- get it running right first.
    I've got a Hypertech stage two. It makes a difference but it's important to get the right chip. After two different trys, I finally sent them my stock chip and they sent a custom-burned chip to match my stock part-throttle settings (free). After that it's been running great.
    smack
     

Share This Page