Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Computer died... help..........

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by Capman2k, Nov 13, 2004.

  1. Capman2k

    Capman2k 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2001
    Posts:
    5,070
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    dg
    Yeah..... so earlier, I was surfing the web... I opened up a website, and the computer just went crappo... Nothing on Internet Explorer was working, but I could get all the other windows to come up... let it sit for an hour, same thing... So I cut the power to the computer (yeah, bad thing I know, but it's honestly the only way I can get the darn thing to reboot or shut off)....

    It'll load up until the HP blue screen, just before it loads windows....... hellllp, my dad's laptop is cool and faster than my crap computer can dream of being, but I hate this keyboard and horrible sound quality............. /forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif /forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif /forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif
     
  2. thezentree

    thezentree 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Posts:
    7,198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NC
    sounds a lot like what my old computer did when it forgot about the registry. /forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif
     
  3. Resurrection_Joe

    Resurrection_Joe 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Posts:
    17,372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gettysburg, SD
    Send it to me, I'll fix it, and send it back

    Really!

    No hiding wierd stuff from me!
     
  4. mudhog

    mudhog THEGAME Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2000
    Posts:
    17,899
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    portland oregon
    re format the hard drive and re install windows /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  5. Silverado_K5

    Silverado_K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Posts:
    707
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Weston, Oregon
    Can you get into Safe Mode buy rebooting and pressing the F8 key? If you can get into Safe Mode, then do a virus scan and delete anything it detects. If you can eventually get it to boot into your desktop, download Adaware or Spybot and find the spyware that's infected your comp.
     
  6. newyorkin

    newyorkin 1 ton status

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Posts:
    16,555
    Likes Received:
    157
    Location:
    Los Estados Unitos
    What version of Windoze?

    I second what Mudhog said, format/reinstall would be the fastest solution. Plus, you'll have a nice squeaky clean system again.
     
  7. Capman2k

    Capman2k 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2001
    Posts:
    5,070
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    dg
    My dad got it.......... Thang is, my dad put so much bootlegged stuff on this computer before I inherited it that if I format the HD, I won't have Windows XP, or half the stuff I use regularly on here, since he doesn't burn any of the stuff to CD's...........

    But yeah, this computer is just junk... Dad's looking at hooking me up with a refurbished computer from the company he works for, free of charge... Not old school either, they replace their computers about once a year, clean em up, format the HD's, and give them away /forums/images/graemlins/peace.gif /forums/images/graemlins/peace.gif

    But.... they don't just give them away for just anyone... so my dad's getting it for my mom to take to work, but my mom's going to take this one to work, and I'm going to utilize the one Dad's getting for freeeee /forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif
     

Share This Page