Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Computer Genius's Wanted

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by Drey, Oct 1, 2004.

  1. Drey

    Drey 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    May 8, 2003
    Posts:
    8,288
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    Computer Genius\'s Wanted

    Ok guys heres the deal, I have a Dell Dimension 2400
    I tryed to start it up last night and nothing but a screen that says it is recomended that I replace my hard disk drive. Im guessing thats the hard drive. I also checked the diagnostic lights on the back and it is the same thing. I heard there is a virus going around that makes your puter think your hard drive is fried, so im wondering if this is the case. Anyway what is a new hard drive prolly going to cost. Mine is a 2 gig or soemthing like that. And also is it very hard to swap it out. I do have access to a computer store in my area that i could get it worked on there.

    on a somewhat related toipc boy am i glad i came home for the weekend and have internet at home. I was missing the BOTDs /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif
     
  2. mudhog

    mudhog THEGAME Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2000
    Posts:
    17,899
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    portland oregon
    Re: Computer Genius\'s Wanted

    they are very easy to replace and cheap also my 200 gig only cost me $116 you can get a 80 gig for about $60
     
  3. Drey

    Drey 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    May 8, 2003
    Posts:
    8,288
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    Re: Computer Genius\'s Wanted

    I dont wanna go the cheap route at the cost of performance though.
    200 sounds right, i dont know where the hell my spec sheet for my puter is /forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif
     
  4. Drey

    Drey 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    May 8, 2003
    Posts:
    8,288
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    Re: Computer Genius\'s Wanted

    found it...I guess i had an 80 gig /forums/images/graemlins/whistling.gif
     
  5. mudhog

    mudhog THEGAME Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2000
    Posts:
    17,899
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    portland oregon
    Re: Computer Genius\'s Wanted

    you can also get a 120gig western digital 72,000 rpm 8 meg buffer for around $89
     
  6. or2play

    or2play 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Posts:
    657
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Yuma, Arizona
    Re: Computer Genius\'s Wanted

    They are fairly easy to replace. Have you tried booting to a boot disk or cdrom. If you can boot to a dos prompt perhaps you can try to access your hard drive that way.
     
  7. newyorkin

    newyorkin 1 ton status

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Posts:
    16,555
    Likes Received:
    157
    Location:
    Los Estados Unitos
    Re: Computer Genius\'s Wanted

    Call Dell tech support. Your drive might be toast, but like Brian (or2play) said, you can also boot to a floppy or CD, and see if you can access the drive that way.

    It you have hardware indicators telling you the drive is bad, then it probably is. The best a virus can do is mess up the boot sector or some startup files, which would just give you an error about the OS.
     
  8. ncbloodhound

    ncbloodhound 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2003
    Posts:
    400
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indian Trail, NC
    Re: Computer Genius\'s Wanted

    [ QUOTE ]
    Call Dell tech support. Your drive might be toast, but like Brian (or2play) said, you can also boot to a floppy or CD, and see if you can access the drive that way.

    It you have hardware indicators telling you the drive is bad, then it probably is. The best a virus can do is mess up the boot sector or some startup files, which would just give you an error about the OS.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Viruses can affect the BIOS too not just the OS, but they are not as likely. /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif
     
  9. newyorkin

    newyorkin 1 ton status

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Posts:
    16,555
    Likes Received:
    157
    Location:
    Los Estados Unitos
    Re: Computer Genius\'s Wanted

    [ QUOTE ]
    Viruses can affect the BIOS too not just the OS

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Really?? I think I vaguely remember hearing something about that, but I've never actually seen one...
     
  10. RingMaster4x4

    RingMaster4x4 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Posts:
    2,049
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bartlett, Texas
    Re: Computer Genius\'s Wanted

    I bet your Dell has a Maxtor hard drive,right? I have dells come through the shop here all the time with bad hard drives and evertime it has been a maxtor. /forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif
     
  11. Drey

    Drey 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    May 8, 2003
    Posts:
    8,288
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    Re: Computer Genius\'s Wanted

    What type do you recomend Ring Master.
     
  12. mudhog

    mudhog THEGAME Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2000
    Posts:
    17,899
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    portland oregon
    Re: Computer Genius\'s Wanted

    i always run western digital in all my pc's that i build and have only had one go bad and that was after a few years of hard use
     
  13. Resurrection_Joe

    Resurrection_Joe 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Posts:
    17,372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gettysburg, SD
    Re: Computer Genius\'s Wanted

    Hmmmmm both my main disks are Maxtors 40gb and 60gb, but my backup USB2 80GB one is WD

    Arrrrr offhand comments are making me paranoid!

    Anyway both mine are still straight shooting
     
  14. ncbloodhound

    ncbloodhound 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2003
    Posts:
    400
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indian Trail, NC
    Re: Computer Genius\'s Wanted

    [ QUOTE ]
    [ QUOTE ]
    Viruses can affect the BIOS too not just the OS

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Really?? I think I vaguely remember hearing something about that, but I've never actually seen one...

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Yep, I had this one once. Luckily I caught it before it went off...

    CIH/Chernobyl Virus
     

Share This Page