Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Computer gurus: Make file server from old comp.?

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by jarheadk5, Aug 9, 2004.

  1. jarheadk5

    jarheadk5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2000
    Posts:
    4,389
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PA
    I'm considering turning my old desktop box into a personal file server for all my crap. It's a 1999-vintage AMD K6/2 350MHz (Socket 7) running Win98, 128MB RAM, and an 8GB HD. The questions:

    - Obviously I'll want/need a bigger HD; what's the largest size drive that either the CPU or Win98 will support?
    - Is 128MB RAM enough for a file server, or should I consider adding another stick of 128MB?
    - Would one of the freebie distros of Linux be a better choice of OS than Win98 for this purpose? If so, which one?
     
  2. newyorkin

    newyorkin 1 ton status

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Posts:
    16,555
    Likes Received:
    157
    Location:
    Los Estados Unitos
    -Hard drive support varies by motherboard. Look up your moboard's specs on the manufacturer's web site, it should list the largest supported.
    -128mb should be fine if you're running linux and just pushing and pulling files. You could probably even get away with 64mb if you didn't have the 128 already.
    -Linux will perform better than win98, but it can get hairy setting up. Once you have it the way you want it, though, you can forget it exists for years...
     
  3. Goober

    Goober 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Posts:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mayberry (Auburn, WA)
    Are you just looking for a computer to act as a storage location for files on your network?

    Windows 98 with 128Meg of Ram would work just fine to share files. I use a 233Mhz Pentium running Windows 2000 Server as an Email server for just over 500 users and it works great. I don't even have a monitor, keyboard or mouse hooked up to it.





    You're not going to host a porn site, are you?? /forums/images/graemlins/yikes.gif /forums/images/graemlins/yikes.gif /forums/images/graemlins/yikes.gif



    /forums/images/graemlins/histerical.gif /forums/images/graemlins/histerical.gif /forums/images/graemlins/histerical.gif /forums/images/graemlins/histerical.gif /forums/images/graemlins/histerical.gif /forums/images/graemlins/histerical.gif /forums/images/graemlins/histerical.gif
     
  4. jarheadk5

    jarheadk5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2000
    Posts:
    4,389
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PA
    [ QUOTE ]
    Are you just looking for a computer to act as a storage location for files on your network?

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Yep. I don't even care if I can get to the 'Web with it, I just want to be able to have easy access to my pics, vids, mp3's, and other assorted crap, rather than swapping CD's around all the time. Of course it'll all get backed-up to CD... but I don't want to be disc-swapping all the time looking for stuff.
    Biggest reason though is that I've just about maxed-out the 30GB HD on my laptop, which is my primary comp. And the AMD box is just sitting there, waiting to be utilized again.

    [ QUOTE ]
    You're not going to host a porn site, are you??

    [/ QUOTE ]

    NO!
    I knew a guy who decided to get into that, though. Went through his first month's bandwidth allocation in a week, and nearly cooked the comp. he was using as a host due to all the activity. Don't know if he's still doing it though; I'm not interested in the stuff he was hosting, so I never checked it out.
     
  5. spearchucker

    spearchucker 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Posts:
    1,556
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay area, CA
    If it was me doing it I would run Linux, preferably RedHat since it has more built in support and more stable than all the others. 128MB is plenty. For the storage situation I would get a RAID controller and set up a RAID 5 logical drive. With a RAID 5, if one of your SCSI drives dies you can replace the drive and rebuild the data onto it. And if you use up all you hard drive space you can buy another drive, put it in and have more storage, up to terabytes if you want. Depends on how much space you want and how important your data is though, since RAID controllers do cost a little. /forums/images/graemlins/eek.gif
     
  6. 1-ton

    1-ton 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Posts:
    2,890
    Likes Received:
    166
    Location:
    Las Vegas, Nevada
    My guess is your mainboards BIOS can probably see about a maximum of 30 GB worth of hard drive. 30 GB hard drives are hard to come by these days, so you might have to settle for a 20 GB.

    Since you are already familiar with win 98, you could just install that, and then do a peer-to-peer connection between computers. You need to be very careful to run a firewall when you do this peer-to-peer connection because "File and Print Sharing" will be turned on. If you are not using a firewall of some sort, on the computer that is connected to the Internet, people could access that computer because the "File and Print Sharing" function will allow them to do this.
     

Share This Page