Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Computer help needed....

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by ChevyCaGal, Aug 4, 2003.

  1. ChevyCaGal

    ChevyCaGal 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2000
    Posts:
    8,158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA USA
    My computer is a huge piece of flaming crap... I have a Gateway. I called them, and I basically talked to some really stupid people. I was told to call some number for help ( I bought this thing 2 years ago in October)... ok, I do, and it's a per minute charge for help. That'd be ok except I so broke right now, I can't spare any extras like this.

    This is the first time since Friday I have been able to get it to work. I have no idea wtf is up? I was a bit shocked I got this to work (internet connection).....

    The problem is this, I start up the computer, it starts up like normal, then it loads gets to windows, then you click a window, it does nothing. The little hour glass might pop up for a second, but then it disappears, and no program. If by some chance after the 40th restart I do get a program to work, it freezes up and I have to kill it, or it works for 5 minutes, makes me think I might have solved the issue, then freezes up. When I hit control alt delete to kill the program (when it actually pops up) it always shows the CPU at 100%. Sometimes if I kill explorer.exe and restart that, it helps for a few minutes, then it works again. I have no idea what is up, or how to solve it, or where to begin. I'm waiting for my internet connection to crap out any second here... sooooo what do you think I should do, and what should I check? Remember, I am retarded, I know basics about the computer, but really, my knowledge could fit in a thimble. Talk to me like I am 3 years old...

    For what it is worth I have....

    Windows XP Home Edition Version 2002 (File system: NTFS)
    Pentium 4 CPU 1500MHz
    1.50 GHz
    512 MB of RAM

    Not sure what else you would need? If you have any ideas of what to try, I am game. Thanks!
     
  2. Confedneck

    Confedneck 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,236
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lehigh Acres, Florida
    you ever do any maintenance on it like scandisk, disk defragmenter etc?
     
  3. ChevyCaGal

    ChevyCaGal 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2000
    Posts:
    8,158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA USA
    I ran scandisk Thursday.... I keep up on stuff, and try to make sure it's maintained as well as I can. I have Norton Systemworks 2003. It tells me there are erros, but I can't see what kind because it looks me out before I can do anything. I tried to reinstall windows, but it freezes up...

    Oh and it's not a space issue, I have 64.2 GB free...

    Everything was fine until Friday afternoon, then it started to get slow, I rebooted and it went wacky. No clue what I did, but it hates me now...
     
  4. Confedneck

    Confedneck 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,236
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lehigh Acres, Florida
    you bought a gateway..thats what you did wrong..but seriously 2 years and you still use it? thats like ancient in computer time..allthough i used my Dell for 5 before replacing it with the current setup, the dell still works great...i wish i could help you more but im not real familiar with anything newer than windows 98.. DOH i figured out a possible solution.,..you use XP, so do a system restore...and restore the system back to the last date it worked properly, maybe a day or two before..
    START>ACCESSORIES>SYSTEM TOOLS...good luck
     
  5. mudhog

    mudhog THEGAME Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2000
    Posts:
    17,899
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    portland oregon
    sounds like the ram has went bad /forums/images/graemlins/eek.gif i have had a few pc's do this and thats what it was for me
     
  6. driney

    driney 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2001
    Posts:
    699
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    west central illinois
    I think Gateway got some of the bad capacitors that were made some time back. I helped someone with their computer that acted the same way. When I suspected the motherboard was bad, I started looking closely for bad components and found some bulged capacitors. It might have been lightning or a power surge but when they called Gateway they replaced it for free. That led me to believe they were aware of a problem.
     
  7. Beast388

    Beast388 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2001
    Posts:
    3,039
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Clinton, IA USA
    Confedneck suggested a good idea. Here is the info Windows Xp has about the System Restore:

    "System Restore overview

    System Restore is a component of Windows XP Professional that you can use to restore your computer to a previous state, if a problem occurs, without losing your personal data files (such as Microsoft Word documents, browsing history, drawings, favorites, or e-mail). System Restore monitors changes to the system and some application files, and it automatically creates easily identified restore points. These restore points allow you to revert the system to a previous time. They are created daily and at the time of significant system events (such as when an application or driver is installed). You can also create and name your own restore points at any time.

    Notes

    Restoring your computer does not affect or change your personal data files. For information about backing up personal data files, see Backing up files and folders.
    For an overview of the other recovery technologies provided with Windows XP, see Recovering Your System.
    For more information about System Restore, see Understanding System Restore. "

    I have never used XP home, so you will need to check to see if you can use the restore function. I would suggest trying this and see if it works. You did say that it was operating normally up until a few days ago. Give it a shot and see if it works for ya! /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif

    Oh, and Confedneck.....I am running XP Pro on a 1997 IBM P1 166mhz with 64mb RAM. /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif /forums/images/graemlins/eek.gif /forums/images/graemlins/eek.gif /forums/images/graemlins/eek.gif
     
  8. Confedneck

    Confedneck 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,236
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lehigh Acres, Florida
    beast, of course i make a good point...i dont waste bandwidth like that station wagon drivin Z guy..LMAO j/k paul lol.....you can use the restore with XP home, thats what i have and its available..my computer is currently a custom athlon setup at 1400ghz etc...runs pretty strong but i dont see a performance difference between it and my P3 dell 500...
     
  9. ChevyCaGal

    ChevyCaGal 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2000
    Posts:
    8,158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA USA
    I had a virus, Norton just called me up, and they helped me run some stuff. I called earlier and had to leave a call back with a tech. Anyhow, my friends son came over on Friday morning to do homework. He downloaded porn (found some of it)... and I bet it came from that. Anyhow, it's solved.... oh he won't be within 100 feet of computer again. Thanks for the replies...
     
  10. Confedneck

    Confedneck 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,236
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lehigh Acres, Florida
    glad you got it figured out..and dont cast blame on your sons friend...its not nice /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif
     
  11. Beast388

    Beast388 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2001
    Posts:
    3,039
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Clinton, IA USA
    Good Steph! Glad you got it figured out! /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  12. TXsizeK5

    TXsizeK5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Posts:
    2,518
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    College Station, TX
    Where did he DL porn from? Kazaa?

    Uh oh, better run Virus Scan /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif
     
  13. ChevyCaGal

    ChevyCaGal 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2000
    Posts:
    8,158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA USA
    [ QUOTE ]
    glad you got it figured out..and dont cast blame on your sons friend...its not nice /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif

    [/ QUOTE ]

    I had porn on my computer. I didn't download it... and he's the only one who had access to touch it since Thursday, so I do blame him. I already asked him, and he said he looked at some, but didn't download anything... /forums/images/graemlins/rolleyes.gif

    Anyhow, seems okay now. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  14. mudhog

    mudhog THEGAME Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2000
    Posts:
    17,899
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    portland oregon
    glad you got it working good now /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     

Share This Page