Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Computer power supply wiring

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by jarheadk5, Mar 3, 2006.

  1. jarheadk5

    jarheadk5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2000
    Posts:
    4,389
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PA
    I have an old computer power supply that I want to turn into a benchtop source of 12v power, for another project I'm getting into. I don't have a wiring diagram for it, and the mobo it was plugged into doesn't reveal any clues.
    Sooo, which of the rats nest of wires coming out of the thing are +12v, and which are ground?
     
  2. randy88k5

    randy88k5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lynchburg, VA, USA
    From my antec manual:

    all DC obviously...

    black wires are ground
    red is +5v
    yellow is +12v
    blue is -12v
    orange is +3.3v
    white is -5v
    purple is +5v?
    green is ?
    grey is ?
     
  3. pauly383

    pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Posts:
    16,217
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Mesa , Arizona USA
  4. dremu

    dremu Officious Thread Derailer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2000
    Posts:
    15,958
    Likes Received:
    452
    Location:
    East of San Francisco
    One thing to note is that you have to tell the PS to turn on. With the ATX you connect the +5 standby to the Power OK, as I recall, and on the AT's you connect the red and orange wires.

    How to do so depends on whether it's the old "AT" style or an ATX ... are there two plugs for the mobo, with one row of wires each, or one plug like the pic Pauly posted?

    -- A
     
  5. jarheadk5

    jarheadk5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2000
    Posts:
    4,389
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PA
    Single plug, like Pauly's pic. So I guess it's an ATX.

    OK, so I got my 12v (the yellow wires). There's quite a few yellows between the mobo connector and the peripheral connectors, so I guess I can make a few 12v feeds (terminal strip across the top).

    Now for the power switch - looks like the purple wire at pin 9 is the 5v standby, and power OK is the gray wire right next to it at pin 8. So I just connect these 2 wires with a SPST switch, and flipping the switch will bring it to life?
     
  6. dremu

    dremu Officious Thread Derailer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2000
    Posts:
    15,958
    Likes Received:
    452
    Location:
    East of San Francisco
    Yep. Or, if it has a power switch on the back of the unit, jumper these two and use the switch on the back. Whatever's easiest, same result.

    -- A
     
  7. readymix

    readymix 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Posts:
    6,706
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Murrieta, California
    No.....
    You run a SPST between the "only" green wire and any of the black wires
     
  8. jarheadk5

    jarheadk5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2000
    Posts:
    4,389
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PA
    OK... So it's the green wire at pin 14 that I want for the switch??
     
  9. TSGB

    TSGB 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Posts:
    12,527
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Centralia, Washington
    There's a Wiki E-How on this that runs through the whole process...
     
  10. readymix

    readymix 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Posts:
    6,706
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Murrieta, California
    There is only one green wire on a 20 PIN ATX, so use that one, switched to any black wire.
    I am not so sure about the newer 24 pin style but i think the 4 additional wires are yellows and blacks.
     
  11. jarheadk5

    jarheadk5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2000
    Posts:
    4,389
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PA
    readymix: It's a 20-pin connector; I'm using the pinout diagram that pauly383k10 posted for the pin numbers since my connector doesn't have pin numbers on it.

    I have no idea what you're talking about. Got a link??
     
  12. TSGB

    TSGB 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Posts:
    12,527
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Centralia, Washington
  13. jarheadk5

    jarheadk5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2000
    Posts:
    4,389
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PA
    Wow!

    Guess I should get off the same few websites every now & then and experience the rest of the Interweb...
     
  14. TSGB

    TSGB 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Posts:
    12,527
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Centralia, Washington
    I found it by setting up a Google home page at www.google.com/ig

    They offer a whole bunch of pods you can turn on or off and customize, like daily How-To's, quotes, local movie times, favorites, and other crap.

    Pretty cool for me when I wander from computer to computer.
     

Share This Page