Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Computer question for the gurus...........

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by BurbinOR, Apr 27, 2004.

  1. BurbinOR

    BurbinOR 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    5,829
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Why is it when I open another IE window from within a window (hyperlink) the new window ALWAYS opens up minimized (2" square box). Running Win XP pro on a new Dell laptop..........thanks.

    /forums/images/graemlins/whistling.gif
     
  2. landsmasher

    landsmasher 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,423
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California, The Blow Me State
    Because that is what you have it set up to be... What you want to do is stretch it in both directions before you close it next time and that is the size that it wioll open up at next time you open a link... /forums/images/graemlins/peace.gif
     
  3. mudhog

    mudhog THEGAME Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2000
    Posts:
    17,899
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    portland oregon
    mine just started doing the same thing and nothing i do will fix it /forums/images/graemlins/angryfire.gif /forums/images/graemlins/angryfire.gif /forums/images/graemlins/angryfire.gif /forums/images/graemlins/angryfire.gif
     
  4. mudhog

    mudhog THEGAME Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2000
    Posts:
    17,899
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    portland oregon
    [ QUOTE ]
    Because that is what you have it set up to be... What you want to do is stretch it in both directions before you close it next time and that is the size that it wioll open up at next time you open a link... /forums/images/graemlins/peace.gif

    [/ QUOTE ]
    nope still doing it /forums/images/graemlins/angryfire.gif
     
  5. heavy4x4

    heavy4x4 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2002
    Posts:
    3,270
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Delafield, Wisconsin
    Open a window.
    Manually drag the window to the size of the screen (not the maximize button).
    Close window.
    Open another window and it should open to the full size.

    If that doesn't work, then I have no idea and I'm talking out of my ass.
     
  6. 84gmcjimmy

    84gmcjimmy 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Posts:
    12,838
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    B.C. CANADA
    [ QUOTE ]
    Open a window.
    Manually drag the window to the size of the screen (not the maximize button).
    Close window.
    Open another window and it should open to the full size.

    If that doesn't work, then I have no idea and I'm talking out of my ass.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    That's what I do when my sister messes with it /forums/images/graemlins/mad.gif
     
  7. Resurrection_Joe

    Resurrection_Joe 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Posts:
    17,372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gettysburg, SD
    Then switch to firefox.......


    Hahahahaha, anyway, yeah IE should retain the form of the last window closed
     
  8. Pookster

    Pookster 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2000
    Posts:
    3,195
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NYC, NY, USA
    it wont retain a size if you simply "maximized" it.
    it has to be hand streched.

    If it still doesnt, your registery keeps the exact pixle width and height.
     
  9. BurbinOR

    BurbinOR 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    5,829
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    [ QUOTE ]
    Then switch to firefox.......


    Hahahahaha, anyway, yeah IE should retain the form of the last window closed

    [/ QUOTE ]

    So far the stretching method is working...........thanks! /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  10. mudhog

    mudhog THEGAME Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2000
    Posts:
    17,899
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    portland oregon
    [ QUOTE ]
    [ QUOTE ]
    Then switch to firefox.......


    Hahahahaha, anyway, yeah IE should retain the form of the last window closed

    [/ QUOTE ]

    So far the stretching method is working...........thanks! /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif

    [/ QUOTE ]

    not for me /forums/images/graemlins/angryfire.gif /forums/images/graemlins/angryfire.gif
     
  11. jjlaughner

    jjlaughner 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2001
    Posts:
    7,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    [ QUOTE ]
    Because that is what you have it set up to be... What you want to do is stretch it in both directions before you close it next time and that is the size that it wioll open up at next time you open a link... /forums/images/graemlins/peace.gif

    [/ QUOTE ]


    Works for me on XP and 2000

    Try this, right click your Blue E (IE icon on the task bar at the bottom... not the one on you desktop), go to properties, in the RUN dropdown box select Maximize. Open IE, its should be maximized, now restart the computer /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif
     
  12. newyorkin

    newyorkin 1 ton status

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Posts:
    16,555
    Likes Received:
    157
    Location:
    Los Estados Unitos
    Also check your home page from the control panel. Far fetched, but you might have some kind of spyware opening a hidden IE window, then respawning a visible one with your old home page in specific dimensions each time you fire off IE.

    Try also killing each instance of the Iexplore.exe process, then go to start->run, type http://www.google.com and hit OK, resize that IE window and close it. Then go back to start->run and open google that way again, and see if the size is retained properly. If so, your home page is probably resizing it. If not, something probably has a hook in explorer that's causing it.
     

Share This Page