Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Computer Question

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by ncbloodhound, Sep 21, 2004.

  1. ncbloodhound

    ncbloodhound 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2003
    Posts:
    400
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indian Trail, NC
    If the temp in my house gets below 70, my computer hangs when booting up. If I let it stay on for a little bit and reboot again sometimes it comes right up.

    I don't have this problem when it is warmer in the house. Any ideas? /forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif
     
  2. Resurrection_Joe

    Resurrection_Joe 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Posts:
    17,372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gettysburg, SD
    Cooler should run better

    Maybe something to do with heat expansion?

    I'd do a clean and check on all the internal parts
     
  3. ncbloodhound

    ncbloodhound 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2003
    Posts:
    400
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indian Trail, NC
    I have done that before, but it seams like every fall I have this problem... I clean out the dust yearly. I also reformat and reinstall yearly though that probably has nothing to do with the problem.

    I get the win xp logo, but then I get a black screen and it just sits there. I will try cleaning it out again.
     
  4. Shaggy

    Shaggy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2000
    Posts:
    6,737
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Banos, CA
    Yep, I'm guessing something having to do with heat expansion too. I'd try reseating all the memory and expansion cards and see if that helps.
     
  5. ncbloodhound

    ncbloodhound 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2003
    Posts:
    400
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indian Trail, NC
    Thanks. I will try that too.
     
  6. Shaggy

    Shaggy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2000
    Posts:
    6,737
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Banos, CA
    Actually, before you do that try to bot it in safe mode. If it boots in safe mode then it's probably a software issue.
     
  7. ncbloodhound

    ncbloodhound 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2003
    Posts:
    400
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indian Trail, NC
    Same thing...it appears to hang on the agp driver. Maybe my card is having issues? I will try reseating everything.
     
  8. Shaggy

    Shaggy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2000
    Posts:
    6,737
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Banos, CA
    That pretty much points to the video card or driver. Have you gotte the newest drivers already?
     
  9. ncbloodhound

    ncbloodhound 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2003
    Posts:
    400
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indian Trail, NC
    Well, the newest video card drivers from Windows Update won't let me run Halflife and other games. I do have the latest copy of the drivers from the chip manufacturer though. /forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif
     
  10. newyorkin

    newyorkin 1 ton status

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Posts:
    16,555
    Likes Received:
    157
    Location:
    Los Estados Unitos
    longshot, but if it's hardware, humidity might be an issue.
     
  11. landsmasher

    landsmasher 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,423
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California, The Blow Me State
    Try keeping the house warmer... /forums/images/graemlins/histerical.gif
     
  12. jakeslim

    jakeslim 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2002
    Posts:
    2,686
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Napa, CA
    ...or place it in oven for a few minutes ...microwave is faster though..... /forums/images/graemlins/whistling.gif
     
  13. landsmasher

    landsmasher 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,423
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California, The Blow Me State
    Sorry,,, I couldnt help it seeing as how I just had to purchase a brand new desktop and start all over... Some things are just not worth fixing...
     
  14. Shaggy

    Shaggy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2000
    Posts:
    6,737
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Banos, CA
    [ QUOTE ]
    Well, the newest video card drivers from Windows Update won't let me run Halflife and other games. I do have the latest copy of the drivers from the chip manufacturer though. /forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif

    [/ QUOTE ]

    What about if you go the manufacturer's site?
     

Share This Page