Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Computer, what ya usen ???

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by Z3PR, Apr 19, 2002.

  1. Z3PR

    Z3PR Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Posts:
    19,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Everywhere
    I've got a IBM desktop, Pentium 3, 1 ghz, 320 mb of memory, a cdrw, and pleanty of toys like pc-cam, flatbed scanner, printer, 3 piece speaker set with sub. I love my Blazer, but I'm also into computers. I don't have the most powerful computer on the market, but this one works for my needs. Windows ME, cable modem
     
  2. Hossbaby50

    Hossbaby50 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Posts:
    8,972
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    Your computer is alot better then mine.

    NEC: 233MHz Pentium, 6 gig hardrive, 64 MB Ram, 24x CD rom, 17" monitor.
     
  3. gokartergo

    gokartergo 3/4 ton status Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2000
    Posts:
    5,855
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hollister, CA
    I built my P4 with a 1.4 MHZ processor and 518 megs of ram..Also 1 CD burner and a 40 spd CD... also a 64 meg video card.Intel PC camera. Canom 2400DPI flatbed scanner And I added extra Usb hubs up front...I love this one.It is as fast as you can Klick the mouse Also a opitical mouse..Dan
     
  4. UseYourBlinker

    UseYourBlinker 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2000
    Posts:
    11,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    .
    Packard Bell ..... With some upgrades /forums/images/icons/smile.gif
     
  5. Danno

    Danno 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2001
    Posts:
    487
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rockford, IL
    The workstation at home is an Athlon 750 system w/384Megs of RAM and 76gigs of disk space, DVD-ROM, yadda.

    Laptop is a Sony VAIO FXA-36 (Athlon 4 1.0gig, 256Megs RAM, 15" LCD, 20gig HDD, DVD/CD-RW... I love this thing!)

    My server at home is a Duron 750 w/384Megs RAM, 40gig hard drive, and that's about it. Got 640K/640K DSL at home too. /forums/images/icons/smile.gif
     
  6. The_Sandman_454

    The_Sandman_454 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2001
    Posts:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    This system is based on the mighty AMD K6 200mhz processor, 64mb of RAM, 10gb hd, 8x4x32 CDRW drive, and that's about it. I'm too cheap to build anything bigger and for most of what I need, this little computer gets the job done. It's coincidentally the *most* stable system I've had... And seems to have the least amount of issues...
     
  7. thatK30guy

    thatK30guy 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2001
    Posts:
    32,076
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    .
    Mine is the IBM also. Got it from People PC after seeing the little negro boy on t.v. /forums/images/icons/wink.gif

    BTW, all that 'puter-talk of those numbers....mine go like this: blah, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah and blah. /forums/images/icons/tongue.gif

    I just turn the damn 'puter on and type away like a fool. /forums/images/icons/wink.gif
     
  8. Stickseler

    Stickseler 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Posts:
    6,503
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    I think mines a TRS-80 model 2 yep its got 8" floppys /forums/images/icons/wink.gif

    Got it after the tpe drive on the old model 1 died
     
  9. Prembird

    Prembird 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 15, 2001
    Posts:
    811
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    kc, mo.
    Well since i just upgraded from my k6-2 500 Im now running..

    1.3GHZ amd T-Bird
    256 ddr memory (soon to be 512)
    40 Gig 7200 rpm ata 100 hard drive
    64 Meg Prophet 4500 4x agp video card
    10x sony cd-rw
    72x kenwood cd-rom
    3 peice sound (8in. sub)
    cable modem
    usb keyboard and wingman extreme joystick.
    trackball mouse
    17 in. NEC monitor
    and a keyboard with more buttons on it then i will even use...

    And many many more parts laying around..........
     
  10. calcide

    calcide 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Posts:
    283
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just got my new motherboard, CPU and memory in the mail today... Here's what I've got:

    Inwin full tower
    Abit RAID motherboard
    Athlon 1900+
    512MB DDR ECC ram
    ATI All-In-Wonder 128 plus video capture card
    SB Live sound card
    190 GB hard drive space (total of 3 drives, and yes, I need that much- I like to store movies on it)
    40X CD burner (yee-ha!)
    DVD drive
    21" NEC multisync

    I'll probably get a DVD burner when the media for them gets cheaper.

    My laptop is just a PIII 650, 256MB ram, 18 GB hard drive, DVD drive, 15" screen. It's about 2 years old, but it's still going strong. Not too bad for a computer that's been in about 100 different hotel rooms and been stuffed under the seat in front of me on around 60 airline flights.
     
  11. Z3PR

    Z3PR Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Posts:
    19,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Everywhere
    I want a DVD burner also, but I'm waiting for the price to come down. IBM has one for my computer for alittle over $500.00. I talked to a rep at IBM and he told me if I can wait for 6 months or so that price should come down by approx. one half. I do realize I'll need to up my memory and majorly up my hard drive space.
     
  12. pregate

    pregate Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2000
    Posts:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Texas
    just ordered a dell
    2.0 ghz
    40 gb HD
    512 RAM
    geforce 4 video card
    17" trinitron monitor
     
  13. UseYourBlinker

    UseYourBlinker 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2000
    Posts:
    11,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    .
    Dude,your gettin a Dell Hate that f**king guy!
     
  14. pregate

    pregate Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2000
    Posts:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Texas
    yea, i offered to pay twice the price if theyd include his head in the package, no dice..
     
  15. Bubba Ray Boudreaux

    Bubba Ray Boudreaux 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2001
    Posts:
    20,716
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Undisclosed Location
    My wife's. My two computers are too slow.
     
  16. calcide

    calcide 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Posts:
    283
    Likes Received:
    0
    The DVD burners aren't that much, I've seen them for about $350. The blanks are what is really expensive. The cheapest ones are still about $20 each.

    You can get by without a DVD burner by ripping DVD movies to Divx (mpeg-4). They usually end up around 650MB with decent quality. Encoding the DVD movies to Divix format takes a long time if you don't have a screaming processor. It takes a p3 650MHz with 256MB RAM about 14 hours to do.

    Since I'm on the subject of video, (in case anyone is interested) you can rip a regular CD-R with Mpeg video on it and most stand alone DVD players will play it. Mpeg-1 (maybe it's mpeg-2) is the same as VCD. If you use NERO it even has a wizard for making a video CD.
     
  17. Burbinator

    Burbinator 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2001
    Posts:
    898
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tempe, Arizona
    1) Apple iMac, G3, 500 MHz, 384 meg RAM, DVD-ROM, 20GB hard drive, 32 meg video, running on DSL with Mac OS X.

    2) Laptop is a Dell Inspiron 8100, PIII @ 1.2 GHz, 512 meg RAM, DVD-ROM, CDRW, 15" LCD, 40 GB hard drive, 64 meg video, running on DSL occasionally, usually my cell phone for internet, running Windows XP Professional. The DVD is great on roadtrips with the Suburban, just plug it in and the youngsters are happy!
     
  18. gokartergo

    gokartergo 3/4 ton status Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2000
    Posts:
    5,855
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hollister, CA
    Where can you get Nero???
     
  19. calcide

    calcide 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Posts:
    283
    Likes Received:
    0
    <a target="_blank" href=http://www.nero.com/en/download.htm>http://www.nero.com/en/download.htm</a>
     
  20. mudhog

    mudhog THEGAME Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2000
    Posts:
    17,899
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    portland oregon
    amd k6-2 500mhz geforce 2 32meg video 768 megs ram soundblaster live sound card 55x cd rom 8x4x32 cdrw 40 gig hard drive and cable modem /forums/images/icons/smile.gif
     

Share This Page