Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Configuring a 3 wire O2 sensor?????

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by 89K5guy, Oct 5, 2006.

  1. 89K5guy

    89K5guy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Posts:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    I am currently running headers(no cats):D with a single wire O2 sensor but having a rich condition.What is the best way to wire in a 3 wire sensor where my single wire sensor is now?
     
  2. neverendingproject

    neverendingproject 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tulsa, OK
    Add hot and ground. Sensor wire is the same.
     
  3. 89K5guy

    89K5guy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Posts:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Where is the best place to run the hot and ground out of harms way yet with ease of installation?
     
  4. neverendingproject

    neverendingproject 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tulsa, OK
    It doesnt matter about the ground, but you will have to find a switched 12v source for the power. Do a search, there is a part number for a 3 wire connector from gm, but I dont know it. That would probably be easiest.
     
  5. 89K5guy

    89K5guy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Posts:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Thanx for the help:D
     
  6. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,979
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    Take the time and run at least the hot from your fuse panel. Use one of the empty hot in run slots across the top with a factory locking connector.
     
  7. mr.smartass

    mr.smartass 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Posts:
    10,860
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Hattiesburg, MS
    afs-74 i believe is the acdelco number, i just ran mine through a hole in the floor up to the fuse box, to a 12v switched spot, very easy install and fixed all my problems.
     
  8. 89K5guy

    89K5guy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Posts:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    I am buying new headers soon so when I install them I will use this 3 wire O2
    sensor instead of the 1 wire.Now I understand why my SES light would come on sometimes then go out.It also explains why I am running a little rich!:bow:
     

Share This Page