Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

confused

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by 74K5Jay, Oct 18, 2000.

1. 74K5Jay

74K5Jay Registered Member

Hello,

This is my first time on this site and my first K5. I have had it about a year. It was a gift from my father-in-law which fell apart 4 months later ( gee thanks ).
    I am writing because I have a 74 K5 that i am rebuilding and was seeing if you have any suggestions or places for parts. The 74 K5 is actually an 86 frame and drive train with a 74 body bolted on with minor modifications. I don't have any idea about the gearing or anything. I was told that the 86 OEM had a 305 motor. I have recently put a 350 w/vortec heads,aluminum intake, edelbrock carb and cam, accell dist., headers w/dual exhaust, th700r4, and the entire leather interior from a 99 tahoe. The next step is 4" or 6" inch lift not sure which one though. I don't have any idea what to do about the diff. if it's strong enough or if i should replace it. What do you suggest? Any good places to buy weather stripping? I am also having wiring problems as in there are too many unused wires. I was thinking of ripping them all out and putting a aftermarket wiring kit in. any good places to buy one without spending a fortune. any input or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks Jay

2. Boss

Boss 1/2 ton status Author