Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Conversion kit ????

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by **b**, Mar 27, 2000.

  1. **b**

    **b** 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    279
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    KIllington, VT.
    Guy at the parts store is telling me I need to buy a
    conversion kit in order to install my hubs from auto
    to Manual????
    [​IMG]
     
  2. JoeAngelicchio

    JoeAngelicchio 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2000
    Posts:
    628
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Central Ontario, Canada
    Just buy manual hubs, such as Warn, Superwinch, Milemarker,etc......

    <font color=green>Joe Angelicchio</font color=green>
    [​IMG]
     
  3. **b**

    **b** 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    279
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    KIllington, VT.
    i did just buy WARN MANUAL HUBS...
    [​IMG]
     
  4. shaggyk5

    shaggyk5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,610
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SE pennsylvania
    do you mean a203 conversion kit? if so, i dont think you need it. with the new hubs, only the wheels will be disconnected, the front drive shaft and axle will still turn, they just wont provide power to the wheels themselves till the hubs are engaged. Sound Right?

    shaggyk5

    aint nuthin in the world like a heavy chevy with manual hubs.
     
  5. Crash90K5

    Crash90K5 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Santa Clara, CA.
    You don't HAVE to get the 203 conversion kit, but the motor will still have to turn the front drivetrain, so you won't get the maximum MPG. Just converting your hubs, you will see an increase in mileage, but you won't see the maximum potential until you throw in the conversion kit. BTW, Mile-Marker make a kit for the 203.

    [​IMG] <font color=blue>Crash90K5</font color=blue> [​IMG]
     
  6. Steve88

    Steve88 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    526
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunny Arizona !
    Hey guys, anyone seen any deals on the Warns? I'm going for the auto->manual change as my next thing to do...

    <font color=red>Steve88</font color=red>[​IMG]
    88K5 Silverado
    thunderdog@metallica.com
     
  7. **b**

    **b** 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    279
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    KIllington, VT.
    still in need of an answer here...
    looks like iam off to the archives [​IMG]
     
  8. AZK5

    AZK5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2000
    Posts:
    448
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chandler, AZ
    You don't need a conversion kit to install your manual hubs! The conversion kit they are talking about is in the transfercase. To convert from full time to part time 4wd.
    CB
     
  9. Rob 85K5

    Rob 85K5 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,487
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pensacola, Florida
    Your profile says you have an 87 which means part time 4WD your transfer case is a 208.You don't need any kind of conversion kit, just the hubs. Pull off the auto's and put on the manuals. Just follow the directions, its very simple.

    Rob 85K5

    <font color=orange>Bleedin' Chevy Orange</font color=orange>
     
  10. **b**

    **b** 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    279
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    KIllington, VT.
    Thank you all...

    but i think i didnt make myself clear in my earlier post / the guy at the parts store is telling me in order to switch form auto hubs to manual hubs i need the kit . i bought warn standard manuals #9790
    the conversion kit #32720... [did not buy yet]

    We have talked a lot on the board about making the switch / and i never heard anyone talk about this kit...
    the other thing that worries me is that the auto hubs on there now have 5 holes and these manual ones i got have 6 holes...

    please advise...
     
  11. Steve88

    Steve88 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    526
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunny Arizona !
    You said you bought the manual hubs already right? Did you open the box and look at the instructions? What comes in that conversion kit you're talking about?

    <font color=red>Steve88</font color=red>[​IMG]
    88K5 Silverado
    thunderdog@metallica.com
     
  12. Texan

    Texan 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Leander, TX
    You only need the spindle nut conversion kit #32720 if you are replacing 3 hole cap screw hubs. The same Warn hub's (#9790) work on certain model Fords, Dodges, International Harvesters, etc. so that's probably where you would run into needing the kit. You said you've got the 5 hole version currently so you don't need the kit. Just swap 'em out and go...

    <font color=orange>STEVE<font color=orange>[​IMG]
    89 Blazer
    67 Camaro 468
    68 CamaroSS 327
    98 GTP
     

Share This Page