Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

convert from diesel to gas??

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by DesertDueler, Sep 3, 2001.

  1. DesertDueler

    DesertDueler 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Posts:
    3,106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Has anyone converted a truck from a diesel to a gas motor. The reason I ask is I have no clue how to work on a diesel and 1 found a 84 1 ton GMC crew cab. I would like to put a 454 in it and wondering how hard it would be and whats involved?

    86 Jimmy 4"lift 35"MTRs Other cars 69Firebird w/525 hp,and 70GTO live in PHX,AZ<a target="_blank" href=http://www.geocities.com/modifierperformance>My vehicles</a>



    <P ID="edit"><FONT class="small">Edited by DesertDueler on 09/03/01 09:11 PM.</FONT></P>
     
  2. DesertDueler

    DesertDueler 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Posts:
    3,106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    I know this isnt a common question.

    86 Jimmy 4"lift 35"MTRs Other cars 69Firebird w/525 hp,and 70GTO live in PHX,AZ<a target="_blank" href=http://www.geocities.com/modifierperformance>My vehicles</a>
     
  3. thatK30guy

    thatK30guy 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2001
    Posts:
    32,076
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    .
    DD, I watched a buddy convert a diesel crew cab K30 to gas once. He simply bought brand new fuel tanks, thats it.

    Once the diesel was pulled out, and the old fuel tanks, he took some brake cleaner and squirted it into the fuel lines running the length of the frame rails. He capped one end off and shot some compressed air into it. Not much, just enough to run the brake cleaner to the other end. Then he went to the other end and repeated the step as he first started.

    After he did that for about 4 times, he finally just blew the brake cleaner out of the lines and got the tubes 'clean'. He went to the other end of the line and blew it out too.

    Finally, the new tanks went in along with the small block he built for it and got it all running just fine. You would have never known the difference.

    The whole idea here from the swap is to make sure all the old lines are clean and rid of the old fuel.

    I have heard of some people cleaning and draining the old diesel out of the same tank and reusing them, but that method is not recommended. Brand new tanks are the more preferrable method.


    <font color=blue>"Ya don't have to beat it, ya know!!!</font color=blue>

    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/thatK30guy>http://coloradok5.com/gallery/thatK30guy</a>
     
  4. DesertDueler

    DesertDueler 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Posts:
    3,106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Is there any woring I ave to worry about? I would put MSD ignition on it so I wouldnt have to worry about the electronic ignition wires, but any other wires?

    86 Jimmy 4"lift 35"MTRs Other cars 69Firebird w/525 hp,and 70GTO live in PHX,AZ<a target="_blank" href=http://www.geocities.com/modifierperformance>My vehicles</a>
     
  5. Pugsley

    Pugsley 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2001
    Posts:
    3,556
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tucson, Arizona
    The only thing I would be concerned with is that the diesel won't have all the wiring/etc. to put the smog controls on and pacify the Maricopa Co. smog-Nazis.

    1 tequila 2 tequila 3 tequila Floor
    <a target="_blank" href=http://pugsley.alloffroad.com>pugsley.alloffroad.com</a>
     
  6. DesertDueler

    DesertDueler 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Posts:
    3,106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Yea I forgot about that. I guess I would have to figure that one out to.

    86 Jimmy 4"lift 35"MTRs Other cars 69Firebird w/525 hp,and 70GTO live in PHX,AZ<a target="_blank" href=http://www.geocities.com/modifierperformance>My vehicles</a>
     
  7. Hossbaby50

    Hossbaby50 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Posts:
    8,972
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    I would put the MSD on anyway. I love the thing. It was the best thing I've done beside the swap for the 350. I have the MSD 6 Offroad box. It costs more, but it is water proof and vibration proof. It helped out the MPG and the throttle response alot. I wouldn't trade it for anything. Go to Checker and tell them to order it. They will match Jeg's &amp; Summits prices. The Offroad box is $215 or so.
     
  8. DesertDueler

    DesertDueler 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Posts:
    3,106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Thanks, but I already know that. Ive got it on my Firebird. Its required when you use nitrous.

    86 Jimmy 4"lift 35"MTRs Other cars 69Firebird w/525 hp,and 70GTO live in PHX,AZ<a target="_blank" href=http://www.geocities.com/modifierperformance>My vehicles</a>
     
  9. Hossbaby50

    Hossbaby50 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Posts:
    8,972
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    Which box do you run on your Firebird?
     
  10. DesertDueler

    DesertDueler 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Posts:
    3,106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    I run the MSD 6Al box. The one with the rev limiter.

    86 Jimmy 4"lift 35"MTRs Other cars 69Firebird w/525 hp,and 70GTO live in PHX,AZ<a target="_blank" href=http://www.geocities.com/modifierperformance>My vehicles</a>
     
  11. Hossbaby50

    Hossbaby50 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Posts:
    8,972
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
  12. Double_T

    Double_T Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Posts:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orygun
    This talk is just plain craziness!! Keep the Diesel, you'll be sooo glad you did. First, think of this: you didn't know how to work on gas engines when you 1st got one, did you? Next, there's a reason more Diesels are used in industrial app's than gassers; it's called simplicity (longevity, torque, and fuel stingyness are all just side effects...nice side effects). Now, keep the Diesel (or sell it to me...no, give it to me):)
     
  13. californiak5

    californiak5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2000
    Posts:
    820
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oceanside, Ca. 92056
    If you have a auto tranny in the truck you will have to change the torque converter. I am not sure if there is anything needed if it's a manual tranny.

    See Ya,
    Keith

    [​IMG] <font color=green>Born to Drive My K5</font color=green> [​IMG]

    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/californiak5>CaliforniaK5's Pictures</a>
     
  14. OFFRDK5

    OFFRDK5 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2000
    Posts:
    1,881
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Central IL
    Double_T: (Daffy Duck voice) NO IT'S MINE!! DOWN!! DOWN!! MINE!!

    Simple, KEEP THE DIESEL. And if you really don't want it sell the whole thing and get yerself a gas guzzeler!! Think...you get how many MPG with the gasser...and how much with the Diesel?
    Gas=1 mpg Diesel=20+ mpg ON A FULL SIZE BLAZER

    Now...hand over the Diesel. &gt;:)

    SK-15
    J**P...it's whats for dinner!
    Roads? Where we're going, we don't need any roads!
    If it wasn't for bad luck I would have no luck at all!!
     
  15. Double_T

    Double_T Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Posts:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orygun
    Very funny Sk, but you can go back to Disneyland 'cause as you can see I got 1st dibs on the truck. Isn't htat right, Desrtdlr? (See, damnit, now you gat me flustered &amp;I can't type!)
     

Share This Page