Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

converting to manual...

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by Seventy4Blazer, Feb 23, 2002.

  1. Seventy4Blazer

    Seventy4Blazer 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Posts:
    5,634
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Escondido, CA
    can i use a hydraulic clutch?
    if i could this would make it SOO MUCH EASIER
    i am still considering doing it. but i only want a hydraulic clutch.
    Grant

    take me drunk, i am home
    www.geocities.com/seventy4blazer/parts4sale.html
     
  2. Sparky87k5

    Sparky87k5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 6, 2001
    Posts:
    726
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lynden, Washington, 4 miles from Canada
    Gather all the parts from an 85 on up hyd. setup from a pickup or K5 and you're almost done. Most parts should pretty well work as is. Not that big a difference between yours and a mid 80's version. Look over a parts manual and repair manual for a brief rundown on whats required. I've owned both the manual clutch and my present hyd. setup. Hydraulic setup is by far superior.

    87 K5, 427/340hp BBC,4.56 D60 & 14BFF, NV4500, NP208, TSM rear disc's,
     
  3. Seventy4Blazer

    Seventy4Blazer 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Posts:
    5,634
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Escondido, CA
    thanks man, one more question.
    what manyal trans will bolt up to a 203?
    or can i use one off a 208 and see if advanced adaptors makes a adaptor?


    take me drunk, i am home
    www.geocities.com/seventy4blazer/parts4sale.html
     
  4. Oblin Goblin

    Oblin Goblin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2000
    Posts:
    205
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Davis, CA
    An '85 and up master cylinder will work but you may have to move alot of wiring around to make it fit. My master cylinder connects to the firewall right where most of the wiring goes through. It will work though.
     
  5. Seventy4Blazer

    Seventy4Blazer 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Posts:
    5,634
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Escondido, CA
    what if i just use the pedal type? with the cylinder on the pedal...
    Grant

    take me drunk, i am home
    www.geocities.com/seventy4blazer/parts4sale.html
     
  6. Sparky87k5

    Sparky87k5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 6, 2001
    Posts:
    726
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lynden, Washington, 4 miles from Canada
    Any SM465 with the correct output spline count will work for you. Early 465's were 10 spline output, after about 85, 465's went to 32 spline output. Your 203 would need either 10 or 32 spline input depending on transmission choice. 203's with 32 spline were behind T400 trans. 203's with 10 spline were behind 465's. Your 203 is probably 27 spline, typical of T350 trans. Best choice would be to get a 205 10 spline and early 465. Or you could go with a 32 spline 208 and late model 465. You don't need any adapter from AA. All factory stuff unless you want to go NV4500, about $2200 for trans and bellhousing.

    87 K5, 427/340hp BBC,4.56 D60 & 14BFF, NV4500, NP208, TSM rear disc's,
     

Share This Page