Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Coolant Leak from back of manifold.. anyone else ever had this? and...

Discussion in '1992-Present Chevy & GMC models' started by rocko, Dec 12, 2002.

1. rocko

rocko 1/2 ton status

The back of the "plastic" intake manifold is leaking coolant..
    Anyone ever encounter this? my questions are,
    1. Is their a replacement aluminum manifold for the 99 Tahoe with the 5.7 litre vortec engine?

2. How hard is it to remove the top of the engine, manifold, etc..

3. Should I just reuse the plastic manifold? or splurge and buy the aluminum?

We have to get this fixed.. it's leaking coolant at a fast pace.
    Thanks in advance..
    Charles and Pamela. /forums/images/graemlins/1zhelp.gif

2. Stoopalini

Stoopalini 1/2 ton status

Hey Charles,

I have no experience with the Tahoe motors, but in my LT-1, there is a coolant hose that runs from one side of the back of the motor to the other. They are common to start leaking, and it appears to come from the manifold when they do.

I can't see how coolant could be leaking out of your intake manifold? Unless there is a line that runs coolant through the manifold to heat it up for emissions reasons ...... and if so, I'd recommend you just bypass it.

Oh well, maybe someone who knows will chime in.

Thomas.

3. chevelless502

chevelless502 Registered Member

I would more think it is leaking from the manifold itself and not the plastic part because I dont think it has any coolant going thru it.(I am not positive on that). I have a 99 and the intake itself was leaking because of the pink coolant that gm uses ate thru the gaskets. It is a very common problem on them. Email me if you have any questions about it.
    Andy

4. rocko

rocko 1/2 ton status

Thanks guy's.. any other input on this?