Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Coolant level keeps disappearing and not leaking?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by buddy67, Dec 5, 2006.

1. buddy67

buddy67 Registered Member

the coolant level was full the night before and the next time i drive it, its gone. The temp keeps goin way up to 260+ then drops within a second to lower than 210. There is absolutely no fluid on the ground and I just added a gallon to it last time I drove it. The oil level is slightly more than full but not a lot so I do not think its mixing. I have had a huge number of problems this past week and now this one is the only one I am not good at fixing. The cap was cold after my 6 minute drive up hill back to my apartment. If the thermostate is bad what could that have to do with constant loss of coolant. so much that i added alomst a gallon of water to get home. Thanks a lot.

-Buddy

2. pauly383

pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

Its cheap enough to replace the thermostat anyway .

3. 4X4HIGH

4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

Coolant loss is either from leaking or burning it. It could be leaking only while you're driving which is very hard to find. Is it smoking out the tailpipe? Is the oil milky looking?

4. big dan

big dan 1/2 ton status Premium Member

yeah I would check to see if there is white smoke coming out and even look for water dripping from the tailpipe. you could even pull the spark plugs and see if there is any water in the cylinders. once my thermostat stuck and it got up to 260 and blew my head gaskets. had another friend that was losing water and couldnt find out where it was going so I pulled his plugs and drained about a gallon out of two cylinders.

5. buddy67