Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Crate Motors

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by dvldog 70k5, Nov 27, 2004.

1. dvldog 70k5

dvldog 70k5 Registered Member

I was thinkin here down the road if it's in my budget I might want to get a new crate motor for my Blazer. I'm no mechanic or motor head so I dont want something I need to buy a ton more parts for because it's only half way to a turn key motor. Basically im looking for something that is complete as possible and pretty much ready to just bolt in and run. Down the road I will also look in to upgrading my tranny to a 700R.

So if you wanted to buy a new crate where would you recomend for info/ prices on them. Would you go direct with the dealer? What's average to spend on labor to put them in? And what kind of warranties usually do you get with a new motor? Thanks for the help again. This site rocks for sure..... /forums/images/graemlins/usaflag.gif

Nick

2. kyser_soze

kyser_soze 1/2 ton status

look at scroggin dickey's web site sdpc.com they got some good one's

3. sickquad

sickquad 1/2 ton status

Can't beat a GM Goodwrench motor. 3 year 50,000 mile warranty.

4. k20

k20 3/4 ton status

5. 84gmcjimmy

84gmcjimmy 1 ton status

6. cybrfire

cybrfire 1 ton status Vendor GMOTM Winner

$$$ /forums/images/graemlins/yikes.gif

7. 84gmcjimmy

84gmcjimmy 1 ton status

come on, it's ONLY 22 grand
    /forums/images/graemlins/histerical.gif /forums/images/graemlins/yikes.gif /forums/images/graemlins/yikes.gif /forums/images/graemlins/yikes.gif /forums/images/graemlins/yikes.gif

8. dremu

dremu Officious Thread Derailer Premium Member

I put a GM crate in mine ... eek, six years ago now? Simple, reliable, NEW -- not reman like you'd get from Kragen, etc.