Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

crawl ratio vs stopping ability

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by BranndonC, Dec 11, 2004.

1. BranndonC

BranndonC 3/4 ton status

is 57 to low of a crawl ratio for a truck to be able to have the brakes actually stop it, i mean its an automatic, so double it and you have 114. the truck has 550 or so ft #'s of tq and disc brakes all around with a 1 ton master cylinder.

2. sled_dog

sled_dog 1 ton status

as usual I'll be the guy who asks what setup you are running to get 57:1 ratio. TH400 with 5.13s is 50.89 and 700R4 with 5.13s is 62.79. I have no experience with stopping this setup so I'd like to know as well. My plan is 700R4-doubler-5.13s so mine will be 62.79:1.

3. 84_Chevy_K10

84_Chevy_K10 Banned

The 2x thing has been beat to death and is total hogwash. There is no additional torque applied to the wheels because the torque converter is slipping.

At 57:1 your rig will crawl and stop just fine.

You'll likely want more crawl ratio unless you have a super low stall converter.

4. BranndonC

BranndonC 3/4 ton status

the set up i'm thinking about can be seen here
    http://coloradok5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=123101
    its th400 with a 3:1 203 and a 2:1 205 and 4.10's

5. Hossbaby50

Hossbaby50 3/4 ton status

With a 36:1 crawl ratio with my 700R4/208/4.56's it can be hard to stop. I know that most of the guys here in AZ with doublers and 4.10's have a pretty hard time stopping sometimes.

If my motor is turning 900+ RPM's it will overcome the brakes with only 36:1 crawl and a mild TPI350. I have a low stall converter in my truck. I do not have disc rears though.

You will have a very hard time stopping with 50:1 crawl with a large torque motor if you have a decent idle RPM. My idle is 700RPM and my truck will stop but not well.