Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Critique mah cage

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by 8_YOUR_H2, Aug 27, 2006.

1. 8_YOUR_H2

8_YOUR_H2 1/2 ton status

What does everyone think about the "Y" shape in the rear hoop? I am thinking about putting some more braces in the lower part that only has the vertical pieces in it. I don't know what to think yet.

I am also going to put in some gussets here and there.

Oh yeah, and the "X" across the halo, that is coming this week too. Any who I am a beginner so dont be to harsh.
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. ryan22re

ryan22re 1/2 ton status

I don't see anything wrong with that.

3. 8_YOUR_H2

8_YOUR_H2 1/2 ton status

One more thing. Easy on the booger weld comments a few didn't turn out so well and I am already well aware of it.....:doah:

4. beater_k20

beater_k20 Banned

one thing i might have done differently (although it probably has no bearing on the strength of the cage) would've been changing the door bars to a more aestheticly pleasing X. other than that, looks decent. what does the bottom of the Y's in the rear hoop look like?

5. GotLabs

GotLabs 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

Looks good to me, of course I suck at welding also:D .

6. 8_YOUR_H2

8_YOUR_H2 1/2 ton status

Here is how it attaches to the frame. We took two small pieces and ran them straight up through the floor and put a longer piece across the top. The vertical part of the "Y" comes down almost on top of the frame tie in

I agree on the door "X" but I need a large enough space to get my very fat ass into so I had to make the upper right hand piece perfrectly level...

Picture 007-1.jpg

7. ryan22re

ryan22re 1/2 ton status

Didn't notice before, but I'm diggin the whole bench seat and tube vibe....

8. sled_dog

sled_dog 1 ton status