Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Crossover steering necessary?

Discussion in '1969-1972 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by kenaik5, Dec 31, 2005.

1. kenaik5

kenaik5 Registered Member

Hey guys&gals, i'm new to both this site and to owning a 72 Blazer. I really like the site so i thought i'd pick your brains. My Blazer has 4 lift with 35"s and it seems to want to wander alot on the road? My question is do you think crossover steering would be a good addition to the vehicle? The truck will mostly see on road use. Thanks, Kenai :confused:

2. pauly383

pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

Its really only neccessary for wheeling , or if you want things engineered the way it should be .

With the suspension and steering you have , something is wrong , and if its anything to do with tie rod ends from knuckle to knuckle , or ball joints , crossover won't fix that .

3. ecameron87

ecameron87 1/2 ton status

I have had the same lift and tire combo on three different trucks and blazers of this vintage and I have never had a problem with the steering, and they were all stock steering. I think that you have something else wrong with it.

4. Greg72

Greg72 "Might As Well..." Staff Member Super Moderator

Generally, unless you are running REALLY soft front springs you should be able to use the standard push-pull steering setup on a moderately lifted K5.

You may have worn draglink ends (an easy fix) or worn balljoints... any loose or worn front end components will cause the wandering you describe.

From there, you might want to explore raised steering arms, dropped pitman arms etc... Depending on how well the lift was performed on your truck, these things may or may not actually be there (yet). Having bad steering angles in your stock steering setup will cause nervous steering also.