Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Cruise Control Arm Replacement

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by 1990SilveradoK5, May 24, 2001.

  1. 1990SilveradoK5

    1990SilveradoK5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Posts:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Napoleon, OH
    OK, this last week I looked for, blown fuse, broken wires and found none so I am under the opinion that the control arm on the column needs replaced. My guess is bad contacts in the switches or something of the like.

    I have searched the yards around and have found no Blazers, what year of Pickup would have the same arm as my 1990 K5?

    Would the procedure go something like this for replacement?
    A) Remove arm from column
    B) Disconnect wires under dash
    C) Removed connection on end of wires
    D) Tie string to wires and pull.

    The revearse of above for installation?

    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://1990silveradok5.coloradok5.com/>http://1990silveradok5.coloradok5.com/</A>
    Gone Large and Loving It.
    Keith
     
  2. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,982
    Likes Received:
    191
    Location:
    Roy WA
    Thats pretty close, but I think you may have a much easier time of it of you either A) rip the top half of the column apart (turn signal switch etc., or B) cut the wires right where the lever goes, and solder a new section of wire on, so you don't have to try and fit the plug through the column.

    It may not be so bad since the plug is pretty small, but all of the column innards are a pretty tight fit, and its real tough to move stuff through there. String idea can't hurt, just on't break it : )

    Not sure if the length is right, but any GM car or truck with cruise should work, (fit wise) but I'd try the S-10's. Cheap, and extremely plentiful. At least you can compare length that way. If nothing else, you would just have to solder around the bad section, if you find out that it is indeed a cut wire in the column when you pull it.

    Dorian
    My tech/links page: <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.dorianyeager.com/index2.html>http://www.dorianyeager.com/index2.html</A>
    No anti-theft measures on your truck? No pity when its stolen
     
  3. newyorkin

    newyorkin 1 ton status

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Posts:
    16,555
    Likes Received:
    157
    Location:
    Los Estados Unitos
    Since you're not 100% on the switch being bad, and you're ready to hack up the column anyway, I'd go for cutting the wire and splicing on the new switch temporarily, without removing the old one. Or, cleaner yet, if you know where they plug in at the base of the column, yank out the original, run a jumper up to the new switch before installing it or ripping apart your column/old switch, and go for a drive to try out the new switch. It doesn't need to be installed to test it, just connected (not sure if it needs a ground at the switch). Just make sure you secure it before testing (zip-tie it to the old for testing). Tearing open that column can be complicated, and like dorian said, everything in it is a pretty tight fit. And if the switch isn't the problem (or the junkyard switch is bad), it's gonna suck more doing the job the second time... If you have to, definately cut the wires at the top!!

    Good luck!!

    Ratch
    **Hmmm. Land or Mall? Land or Mall? Let's see. Lotsa SUV's around here... Let's build a mall.**
     
  4. DMK

    DMK 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2000
    Posts:
    757
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CINCINNATI, OH
    All gm cars except maybe the corvette use the same arm. Just get one with cruise. You could buy one from lmc brand new. I think autozone can order them. If you are just replacing the arm remove from column there is enought slack to splice in the wire for the cruise. This is the only wire there. The rest for wipers and washer are attached to the switch inside the column. Should only take about 15 min to do.
     
  5. 1990SilveradoK5

    1990SilveradoK5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Posts:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Napoleon, OH
    Thanks for the advise on trying the Junk yard switch prior to the install. That makes alot of sense.

    I do think that I will be able to fish the new wire down through the column without taking it apart. But if the junk one works I might just run the wiring down the outside of the column and leave it their. A little electrical tape and walla, (it's black anyways). Not like my truck is a show piece.

    I just want cruise for the trip north in a couple weeks. 4 hours without cruise on the highway would be just to much.


    I will let you all know monday how it goes.

    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://1990silveradok5.coloradok5.com/>http://1990silveradok5.coloradok5.com/</A>
    Gone Large and Loving It.
    Keith
     
  6. Bondo

    Bondo 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bath, NY
    I just did this on my 1990 a few months ago. I got a new switch from LMC. I got a junkyard switch first but that didn't work either. The problem with getting one from the junkyard is the little wires that make up the wire that goes down the column are sometimes alreday broken. As far as the string trick, thats what I did and it worked fine. Ended up being about a 15 minute job.

    [image]http://dopey.alfred.edu/~bondo/bondo.gif[/image]
    BONDO WILL FIX ANYTHING!!!
     
  7. 1990SilveradoK5

    1990SilveradoK5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Posts:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Napoleon, OH
    When you did the string trick did you have to remove the connector from the end of the wire?

    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://1990silveradok5.coloradok5.com/>http://1990silveradok5.coloradok5.com/</A>
    Gone Large and Loving It.
    Keith
     
  8. Bondo

    Bondo 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bath, NY
    Nope. It went right down through. I had to jiggle it a little bit but, it pretty much went right down through.

    [image]http://dopey.alfred.edu/~bondo/bondo.gif[/image]
    BONDO WILL FIX ANYTHING!!!
     

Share This Page