Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

CRUISE CONTROL INSTALL

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by big d, Dec 29, 2001.

  1. big d

    big d 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2001
    Posts:
    1,236
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    illinois
    what does this entail to remove cruise control from a donor vehicle and install it again in a vehicle previously without it. is this practical and would it be better to purchase an after market kit. im really looking for original, working equipment. anyone with comments/advice or a system to sell please let me know or help. all is appreciated. thanks ahead of time and happy new year !

    darrenolander
    galva,il.
    1979chevycheyenneblazer
    350/350
    gettin'down on all fours, 4 a'little
    x4 play !
     
  2. pcorssmit

    pcorssmit 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Posts:
    1,346
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Thats funny, I'm in the process of ripping mine out. I think mine is different from a '79 though, I have electronic cruise. I think '79 still used manual (2 piece speedo cable), but not sure. Anyway I'd think it would certainly be feasable with factory parts.

    Pete

    '83 K5, 350 TBI (ex 6.2), 700R4, NP208, Dana 60/14 bolt, 4.56s, Detroits, 3" lift, 15-39.5x15 TSLs
    '97 Dodge 2500 4x4 CC LB Sport, Cummins 5 spd
     
  3. 95 Silverado

    95 Silverado 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Posts:
    467
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Central PA
    if you are going to the bother of putting one in, you might want to look into an aftermarket unit that doesn't rely on engine vacuum to operate the throttle. the older units I had wouldn't maintain speed on hills because the engine vacuum drops, my '95 which doesn't use vacuum works great uphill or down. the newer non-vacuum gm systems use inputs from the ecm to operate so it would be a difficult swap. just something you may want to consider.

    '95 Chevy Silverado 1500
    5.7 V8-NV4500- 3.73 rears
    See My Toys: <a target="_blank" href=http://community.webshots.com/user/wdb172454>http://community.webshots.com/user/wdb172454</a>
     
  4. pcorssmit

    pcorssmit 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Posts:
    1,346
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Are you sure it doesn't use vacuum? I just finished pulling mine out ('83 truck), and it seemed essentially the same as the '88 diagram I was using. There is a module behind the dash, to the R of the steering column, the VSS (optical sensor on the speedo till '89, driven off the tranny/t-case from '90+), VSS buffer thingy, switch, etc, but all the electronics controlled a vaccuum motor under the hood. I've never really looked at one newer than '89, though.

    Pete

    '83 K5, 350 TBI (ex 6.2), 700R4, NP208, Dana 60/14 bolt, 4.56s, Detroits, 3" lift, 15-39.5x15 TSLs
    '97 Dodge 2500 4x4 CC LB Sport, Cummins 5 spd
     
  5. 95 Silverado

    95 Silverado 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Posts:
    467
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Central PA
    no vacuum, I went and popped the hood to make sure. square box, bolted to the firewall, cable runs to throttle, no vacuum lines, just wires

    '95 Chevy Silverado 1500
    5.7 V8-NV4500- 3.73 rears
    See My Toys: <a target="_blank" href=http://community.webshots.com/user/wdb172454>http://community.webshots.com/user/wdb172454</a>
     

Share This Page