Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

CSR replacement flex plate

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by ducttape114, Jul 3, 2010.

  1. ducttape114

    ducttape114 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Messages:
    990
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orcutt Ca
    i broke another factory replacement flex plate. decided its time to up grade. ordered my csr plate, got it went to swap and found the old one has a big ol' weight on one side. the new one does not. did gm balence the motor with the flex plate in place? now what are my options? do i have to have my motor re balenced every time i replace a flex plate?

    time is of the essence, i was hoping to wheel this evening. thanks in advance


    6.5l diesel, th400, ORD doubler
     
  2. 4X4HIGH

    4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Messages:
    21,985
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Pleasanton, CA.
    What engine is it for? If it's for the 6.5 diesel then I have no idea but if it is for a SBC gasser then you will also find that the bolt pattern for bolting it to the crank is different also.
     
  3. NorCal_Chris

    NorCal_Chris 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,936
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    Some are external balance and some are internal... Internal have no weights on flexplate, external they do.

    Not sure if you have to have it rebalanced. I think it might just be a generic weight that is used on it, and you just need to make sure it is in the same spot as the one before. But not 100% on that.
     
  4. 4X4HIGH

    4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Messages:
    21,985
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Pleasanton, CA.
    Let me clarify. ALL SBC's with the exception of the SBC 400 are internally balanced from 1955-1985. Starting in 1986 when GM went to the one piece rear main seal engine they also started externally balancing only the REAR of the engines. The crank bolt circle on SBC's from 1955-1985 was 3.58" and from 1986-later the crank bolt circle was changed to 3.00" to accomodate the one piece rear main seal.

    As long as the engine is a later model (1986-later) you just need the correct flexplate with the external weight and nothing more. If the engine happens to be a stroker then it MUST be rebalanced which will require that the whole engines comes apart and the rotating assembly must be sent to the machine shop.
     
  5. tRustyK5

    tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Messages:
    35,434
    Likes Received:
    437
    Location:
    E-town baby!
    This: 6.5l diesel, th400, ORD doubler

    isn't his signature.

    Matt has the 6.5 TD, and I haven't heard hide nor hair of him since wheeling with him at BB '03. I still owe him a quart of oil...;)

    no idea on the flex plate though, my 6.2 was manual and I never really looked for weights or anything when I had it apart.

    Rene
     
  6. ducttape114

    ducttape114 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Messages:
    990
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orcutt Ca
    dont worry about the oil Rene, we're cool:) the end of the story is when i was about to give up and go to sleep blazinaire showed up and told me to quite wasting time and make it work. so we drilled the welds out of the stock plate, and welded it onto the new one in the exact same spot. nothing like taking a welder to brand new expensive parts. got the whole drive train put in last night. need to re fill fluids and fire her up. and clean up the mess in the garage.

    i am still non turbo. if you know anybody with a factory turbo set up they dont want i may be interested
     
  7. tRustyK5

    tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Messages:
    35,434
    Likes Received:
    437
    Location:
    E-town baby!
    That's one way to take care of the problem! ;)

    How is Jay doing? We had a blast wheeling with you guys in '03...and then it seems like you guys vanished. I still remember sitting there at Double Whammy after FWP tried several times to make it, and then you basically drove right up it like it was a paved driveway. I was completely amazed at how much of a difference a little more wheelbase can make on an obstacle.

    I have a complete ATS set-up here, but the turbo itself needs to be rebuilt...at least I got it somewhat cheap.

    Rene
     
  8. ducttape114

    ducttape114 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Messages:
    990
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orcutt Ca
    got everything put together by sat night. short test drive around town with no problam. took my wife to the dunes this morning. she has never been in a capable truck before and she had a blast. drive train is working great. but i had my first experiance with death wobble on the way home. dont know what that is about. now i have a whole list of small projects that i forgot about. it never seems to end.

    jay and i have been moving around alot. i went about 4 or 5 years with out a computer, hence my vanishing act. then i got a computer and had a baby so the truck got pushed even further down the priority list. Noah is 19 months old now and a little more self sufficent. i strap him in the drivers seat and let him push buttons while i work on the truck.

    wheel base is good till you have to break over a nasty ledge. its all a give and take i suppose.

    whats the story with your turbo set up? how hard of an install is that? i want more power but i just got the damn thing driving again i dont really want to shut her down again.

    i think i am getting old. when i was 20 and ripped out all the glass and carpet i didnt care about comfort, i just wanted to be light!!!! driving around last night i was thinking "GD its cold in this thing!!!" i think i am going to ballence the tires, patch the holes in the floor and firewall, and maybe even get some kind of heater. i wear ear plugs when i drive now. i might put a sheet of plexi in the back window/hole. now were did i put my bi-focals? oops i spilled my ensure, i have to go, its bingo night...
     
  9. tRustyK5

    tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Messages:
    35,434
    Likes Received:
    437
    Location:
    E-town baby!
    I haven't installed the turbo stuff. I bought it for my Black K5, but that ended up getting parted out...so now the turbo stuff sits on a shelf in my storage room for now. Thought of bolting it up to my '83 C10 with the 6.2...but that's gonna be my daughter's truck soon. The more gutless it is (at least at first) the better.

    Install doesn't look hard, one exhaust manifold gets swapped, need to tap somewhere for an oil cooler return line, the rest is pretty straightforward. The hardest part will be the crossover pipe. I could probably knock it out on a saturday. Need to either find another turbo that'll work, or get this one rebuilt first.

    I hear ya on creature comforts. I am mildly building a '90 K5 now...it will be sane, civilized, comfortable, AC, and straight. It's TBI though.

    Say hi to Jay when you see him next.

    Rene
     

Share This Page